You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MY VERY FIRST TRIP TO SWITZERLAND - one of the most crypto and blockchain friendly place on the planet earth

in #steemleo4 years ago

Yeah, I agree @crypto.piotr that "lend" is the wrong word, as that implies a contractual arrangement when none exists.

When I first joined this awesome Steem community, I had 15 Steem Power delegated to me. Took me a while to realise what that was, and the impact having SP had on my activities here on Steem.

Instead of "lend" let's use this word: "favour". Think of favour as being a conditional pay-it-forward in the sense that, you agree to comply with the rules of common sense and responsible community standards - as in your own local community after all this is a decentralized platform - otherwise that delegation will be relinquished back to the owner. I use the term pay-it-forward as generally you get to keep using that delegation almost as though you own that SP.

In New Zealand, we have a strong "favour" culture through the Polynesian customs we have here. In Maori, we say "tatou tatou" which - when considering the spiritual context as well which is often what we are required to do when translating Maori to another language - loosely translates into English as this: "I scratch your back, you scratch my back".

In line with Polynesian custom, perhaps we should add a spiritual context to that word "delegation", so the meaning could now be this: "a scratch of a favour, more or less".

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66739.81
ETH 3087.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73