You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: New Tourist Tax For Those Heading To St. Lucia

in #steemleo5 years ago

I love the island of St. Lucia and the people on it. Although there is much poverty when you get off the touristy areas or resorts, I think the tax should help build a proper infrastructure so they can continue their growth. But, so many times, the islands never see a penny of that money.

The tourism has boomed in this little island, due mainly to the cruise ships adding them to a lot of itineraries and when they dock, they literally unleash thousands of people into the port cities where they usually have money to burn. (but, honestly, some of these people are so cheap and are looking for a 1950's type price!)

But, I do love these little developing islands and have seen such huge changes in the last ten years.

Nice piece!

!tip

Sort:  

haven't been there, isn't my first choice to visit in the Caribbean, but it looks nice 🌴

Not my first choice either, just on the itinerary. I must say that my favorite is Curacao . :)

have you been all over the region? would be convenient to take a multi-country cruise and get a taste of several in one go 😆✌️

Yes! That is exactly what I have done, many times over. It gives me a five star vacation and a taste of the islands. Some days, it is just what kind of down time I need. Plus, you get to see what you want. I actually get away from the tourist areas as that is not the real-life and rent a car or hire a driver. Most of the Caribbean Isles, with the exception of very few are very poor, almost third world in many cases. But, what the tourists see are resorts and beach, none of which usually help their economy. Thanks and have a great night!(see this weeks post on the Royal Caribbean ship)

thx for tip! :) always apprec

Always, my friend! My pleasure!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61098.19
ETH 2625.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63