New challenge - start making money with 0 funds - 3

in #steemleo5 years ago

image.png


Hello,

I planned to save a day for this challenge. Due to my job, that requires a lot of travelling, I could not make it.


I see today some real good stuff today on ebay-kleinanzeigen and will contact some people which are close to me. I can only go by foot as this is the purpose of my challenge, to start from scratch with 0 resources. When I will use the car, I will need to deduct the gas I use for the trip.

This is for me kind of a hurdle as there are some good offers in the very rich neighborhoods, but they are 4-5 km away and I don't want to walk so long on this cold. Well, when I will have more money I will go with the car and pick things there up as they would be an easy flip.

We are not like in the US, where @steemmatt finds all the good stuff for flipping on the street. Here are strict rules and littering stuff like this is kind of expensive. I prefer the European way, as it is organised, but it makes harder to hustle. Well people offer things for free as getting rid of them is much more expensive if they bring it to the recycling center.

Every region has to be learned with it's specific case.

image.png


I did clean the baby chair this week. It was tremendous dirty with crumbs of oiled bread in the screw thread. It looks better now, but it is missing a cord, which I'm searching for or need to rebuild. This will cost something, so I save some money or search for free material.

As I was away for 5 days this week, I did not do a research on free stuff. I did some other small flips, because my wife searches for toys like bobby cars and we buy them at a decent price, clean them, do some good photos and place them online with a good markup but not the highest available, just to flip them fast.My son plays with them and when we have buyer we sell them. With this method we can cover the cost of his diapers.


This week I did two cleaning runs around the block. We have some guys in the area that drink in the parking lot and litter their red bull cans on the floor. I did not see them, as I would say to them to pick up their trash. I did pick up two big Ikea bags of plastics and 10 cans and plastic bottles that I brought back to the store for 2.5 €.

That makes my available budget of 4 €. The cleaning of the chair took me 15 minutes and the two runs 35. It is not a decent hourly wage, but it can show that one can make some money starting with nothing.

The simple advice I can give you is to know your area and market. What people buy and try to aim to get them for free or a much lower price.


image.png


image.png

Sort:  

Very interesting. In your calculations, don´t forget the rewards on posts like this one!

Rubbing alcohol is an excellent cleaner for scuffs and dirty. Just test it on a small hidden portion to make sure it doesn't strip or discolor anything (rare). Nice story, discipline and reporting... I'll be following. Don't forget Facebook Marketplace if they allow sales there. It's been a very lucrative new channel for me in recent months.

The rewards of this post will remain on Steem so they will not be used for flipping and building up the bankroll. :)

Hi @alexvan!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.486 which ranks you at #175 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 95 contributions, your post is ranked at #4.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Hi, @alexvan!

You just got a 6.24% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 69084.83
ETH 3770.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52