The Importance of Breakfast + Recipe: Overnight Oats

in #steemkitchen6 years ago

cover working file.jpg

Starting the day off on the right foot is vital. Breakfast is THE most important meal of the day, and provides your energy for the day. Today we explore the importance of a good breakfast, and I will show you how to make my favourite healthy week day breakfast.


Have you ever skipped breakfast? I know I have. As someone who eats breakfast every. single. day, on the rare occasion that I do skip breakfast, the first thing I notice is that after getting over the initial hungriness, I am able to go quite far into the day without eating. Why is this? Breakfast kickstarts your metabolism, after your night long fast.

Skipping breakfast on the regular can be disastrous - most people who skip breakfast tend to eat anything and everything they can get their hands on, by the time lunchtime comes around. This is bad because your poor, empty stomach is shocked by the huge amount of food, and also because just eating anything, and not a balanced meal is setting you up to make bad eating decisions through out the rest of the day.

pexels-photo-691114.jpeg


What Should a Healthy Breakfast Contain?

Protein

Protein provides us with the much needed kickstart we need to start our day, and keeps us fuller for longer. Good examples of proteins are beans, eggs, nuts and oats.

Ham-Spinach-Egg-Cups-Web-Ready-3.jpg

Source

Carbohydrates

Contrary to popular belief, carbs are good for you. It is important to choose the right kind of carbs though. Carbs keep us sustained through out the day, providing energy for your body. It is important to choose good carbs that release their energy slowly. Carbs provide the fuel needed to run your memory, concentration and learning centres in your brain. Whole grain cereals, quinoa, barley and beans are examples of great carbs one can eat for breakfast

IMG_4458.JPG

Source

Fat

Good fats are essential in your breakfast. They keep you full for longer, keep your blood sugar at a good level, and allow your body to absorb the needed vitamins and minerals your body needs to run. Avocados, nuts, eggs and yoghurts are all good sources of healthy fats

healthy-breakfast-tease-today-160912_d0801d8ae9d254746dd15eccd1b2f446.jpg

Source


pexels-photo-533389.jpeg

My answer to all of these requirements is Overnight Oats. I love to make overnight oats because it is super quick, super healthy and super tasty.

By soaking your oats, you are breaking down the starches found in oats. This makes the dish easier to digest. Using a non-dairy milk assists even further with this, as cow's milk can be rather difficult for your tummy to digest, and also contains extra fats.

It is a very versatile dish, so you are able to chop and change to suit your tastes. Just be careful with your choice of toppings - stick to fruits, nuts and natural sweeteners, such as dates, agave and maple syrup.

Follow along below to see how to make Overnight Oats.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 T raw oats
  • 1 T linseeds
  • 1 T chia seeds
  • 1 ½ T coconut shavings
  • ½ t cinnamon
  • 2 strawberries, sliced
  • 1 cup almond milk

METHOD:

Add the dry ingredients, one by one to your dish. Finish with the almond milk, and mix together well.

Leave overnight in the fridge. Grab it in your mad morning rush, and serve with gooood coffee!

2.gif

I hope you have enjoyed my breakfast post! Please follow Steem Kitchen for all kinds of amazing recipes, featured writers and other curated foodie topics.

0001_0100.gif

We have a Discord channel! Click here to join us!

Sort:  

Wow, very good information i need that for my week on gym. Thanks

Yes, perfect gym fuel x

I don't consider myself a "healthy eater" in any way shape or form... but this looks delicious, and will give it a bash... the health benefits can be a bonus ;-)

I am trying to eat Healthier, just made a list of the ingredients for when I head to the supermarket later so I can try this out

tip!

thank you so much for your support xxx

@princessmewmew I love your post I was needing a breakfast like this, you eat high quality food and this one give you strength, vitality and happiness

Cool !!!! Indeed, I sometimes skipped breakfast but I normally don't - even if it's not a lot... @creutzy makes super-elaborated ones, I am bored :P But this idea of making it in advance....awesome ! I will do it tonight already,for tomorrow!
Also I have a bowl with an almost same print like the one of the gif image!!!

aha! thanks for the support you super curator you x yes, it's my fave vintage bowls. there's a flea market here that I visit every few months, and there's a lady that sells them there, I always have to whisper to myself... walk away now, girl, slowly, walk away

Those oats look delicious. I might try that with my kids. Big yes to a healthy breakfast. I eat a lot of local, farm fresh eggs. :)

ah thanks for supporting hun! You are lucky on the fresh eggs front xx

I often skip breakfast when I'm busy & know it's not good! Will try your overnight oats, sounds so good & healthy at the same time, thank you :)

thanks @lizelle. let me know how they work out for you x

Will do ☺

I love strawberries. your presentation is nice and clean. Thank you friend

thank you very much x

All happiness depends on a healthy breakfast, and it's fit us all the day. Resteem you ☺️

I'm not a breakfast person but "Overnight Oats" looks so easy peasy and healthy.

Will definitely gonna try this. 😋
Informative and very clear presentation.

Thanks for sharing another healthylicious recipe @princesmewmew

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66649.04
ETH 3352.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70