Knowing SteemKitchen: Interview with a SteemKitchen Member

in #steemkitchen6 years ago (edited)

Hello friends of SteemKitchen, today we premiere a new Series in our community articles called, Knowing SteemKitchen.


Today we are going to interview our Sous Chef and founder, @freetissues.

1 Who is freetissues?


You put in a tough spot here. I don't like to have my pictures taken or being placed on the spot. As I grow older this gets even worse as I grow bigger and even more grey.

SDC10479.JPG

Damn did I have to look for that one



Those were the good ole days.

2 Where are you from and what do you do?


Born in a small mining town called Welkom in South Africa to a father who loved cooking and a mom who hates the kitchen.
My sister got his musical talents but I am happy with my talents in the kitchen.
I studied accounting, was a farmer for a while, then traveled Europe and stayed in the UK but now back in South Africa managing construction sites for the company I am working for.

3 What led you to create this community?


Following the Food and Recipe tags on Steemit I found it very hard to find good quality recipe and blog post within all the riff raff that was posted and overwhelming those tags.
Being an entrepreneur with many irons in the fire and a love for the Steem Block Chain and all it can offer I decided it was time to create a home for the foodies of steemit and the internet.
The idea and account was born in December 2017 when at first I focused on trying to get a Recipe and Food Website Designed that connected to the Steem Block Chain.
I soon realized that getting the website designed was not an easy feat and finding developers to help a minnow like myself almost impossible.

It was here I decided the way forward was to create the community that will in numbers be the backing to ensure the development of the Website. With sufficient members I would be able to convince a developer to come on board to join the community in its vision to have its own decentralized platform where we can find the content that we are looking for and can support.

4 What are your goals with respect to the community?


My aim is to build a decentralized foodie community run by the community that will not need any one person to function and become the de-facto go-to Recipe Sharing Site on the internet.

How is that for a big dream ?

5 What do you like most about this community?


At the moment it is the rate at which we are growing. It shows that there was a great need for a community like this. Secondly I am Loving all the great people I am having the opportunity to meet. In this short time I have met so many amazing people that was truly lost to me have it not been for Steemkitchen.

6 What is your favorite food style and why?


As all South African men we love outdoor cooking, We call it braai but the world knows it as barbecuing. We are carnivores born into a world of eating meat but the last few years I have come to realize that eating only meat is not all that good for you and started changing over to a more vegetable based diet. I come to love veggie juices and the energy it gives my body.

Here I share an old post of mine if you would like a quick laugh : Click here

7 What is the best dish you have cooked?


Best is a very difficult term to give one of my own dishes as I love most of them but two that has been appreciated most by my guests are Smoked Lamb Ribs cooked in a kettle smoker and the other is a Chicken Pasta with Feta,Creme and very South African pepper called Peppadew. I will still share these recipes in time when things start to run smoothly over here so sadly I don't even have a picture.

8 Name 5 ingredients that you always use in your preparations.


Some of My favorite ingredients Include :

  • Mrs Balls Original Chutney


    mrs balls.jpg

  • Worcestershire sauce


    lea_perrins_worcestershire_sauce_150ml.jpg

  • Lemon Juice

  • Garlic

  • Olive Oil

9 What is your favorite dessert?


This is a simple one. Malva Pudding with Custard and icecream


Source

10 Name your favorite chef steemer within the community


There are no favorites. I love you all and really appreciate every one that has taken the time to join Steemkitchen and participates in our chat and activities.

Thank you for reading and make sure to join our Discord Server and follow @steemkitchen for more curated recipes, fun contests and soon to come great informative articles from our valued members.

Sort:  

Great thing you are doing, I'm not of a chef or really knoq how to cook myself but I am a foodie and I'm a chemist and I can post food related science articles for you all and the steenkitchen community! Thanks again.

I do have an open spot for an informative article. Come to discord so we can chat and see how we can put something together.

"As all South African men we love outdoor cooking"
True Story... "NOU gaan ons braai" ;-)

Great to meet the founder of steemkitchen & super proud that you're a fellow South African! I for one love food blogging but where recipes are shared like here, not just photography! Thank you & look forward to meeting many new foodies here:)

Great article, and SteemKitchen is a very cool place to be!

Never heard of "malva pudding". Looks tasty 😋
And it's nice to know more about our very hardworking Sous Chef and founder! ❤️

Nice to meet you, after all this time. Steemkitchen's gonna go to the moon xxx

You already know me better than anyone on steemit lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63398.53
ETH 2660.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77