Kitchen Witch Thursdays - Banana Bread Pancakes

in #steemkitchen6 years ago

Kitchen Witch Thursday.png

I know it's not Thursday, but like I said in my post earlier I've just been so wiped out lately that this one is late. I'm going to try not to make that a habit, but until these slumlords fix our air conditioning and I'm not dealing with 80-85 degrees in the house all the freaking time I can't make any promises.

Anyway, pancakes are a thing I like. My cousin taught me how to make his from scratch buttermilk pancakes a long time ago and they are so good. But bananas and banana bread are also a thing I like, and I know some people slice bananas on top of their pancakes but I thought to myself a few years back why not combine the two. Thus these banana bread pancakes were born. They taste like banana bread and have a little of the same consistency, but they are easier to make and keep easier than banana bread which is a big bonus. Plus with the cream cheese icing they are amazing, like I could live on these levels of amazing.

Finally, of course, these are an entry for the latest contest by Steemkitchen. The theme is breakfast, which honestly these are great for. Leave out the icing if you don't want the sugar content, they're good with syrup and butter and all the regular fixings of regular pancakes too!

Untitled-1.png

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 3 Tbsp granulated sugar
  • 3 Tbsp packed brown sugar
  • 3 bananas
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 Tbsp softened butter

**

  • 4 oz softened cream cheese
  • 4 Tbsp softened butter
  • 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
  • 6 Tbsp milk
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Now the original recipe calls me for cinnamon, because that's actually out of my grandmother's banana bread recipe. I prefer pumpkin pie spice myself, but anything of that sort will do.

Untitled-2.png

The next step is to get your wet and dry mixes prepared.

The dry mix on the left is flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt and cinnamon.

The wet mix on the right is buttermilk, sour cream, granulated sugar, brown sugar, mashed bananas, egg, vanilla and butter.

Untitled-3.png

Then, go ahead and add the two mixtures together. It should look like standard pancake mix at this point. Give it a few minutes to settle and rise a bit, and while that's happening make your glaze if that's a thing you're doing.

Untitled-4.png

First blend together the cream cheese and butter, then add the powdered sugar, milk and vanilla and mix again until it looks like the picture and there's no lumps left.

Untitled-5.png

Cook the batter up just like you would regular pancakes and boom, you're done! Top with the glaze if you like, or other pancake fixings. Serve with sausage or bacon or whatever else you like as a nice breakfast :D

Banner was made by me in Photoshop. All other pictures here were taken by me specifically for this post. I have been a home cook for over a decade, and any questions or comments about this recipe are encouraged!

If you like this content resteems, upvotes and comments are much appreciated.

Sort:  

Hi, thank you for supporting the steemkitchen #tag and community.

Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain.

Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 55157.38
ETH 2317.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33