Kitchen Witch Sundays - Candy Bark

in #steemkitchen6 years ago

alt text

Another one to blame on my roommate. He found a variation on this recipe, asked me to make it, and I did a lot of research before cobbling together my own version from various sources and my own knowledge. All in all I'm pleased, the perfect combo of sweet and savory and perfectly adjustable as always to personal preferences!

alt text

You'll need the following;

  • 2 pie crusts
  • About 2-3 cups chocolate chips
  • Toppings of choice

Yep, that's literally it. I'm not sure how much chocolate is actually in those containers but it was enough and that's all that matters really. The bag they came out of was a little bigger than the M&M's bag and I know some of the white ones were used which is why I added the milk chocolate too.

Not exact, I know, but when doing a recipe like this I rarely work with exacts. As for the toppings, you can do candy, nuts, pretzel bits, whatever floats your boat really. Same for the chocolate; a bit of white and milk was all we had on hand, but other options like peanutbutter, butterscotch, or mint will work too!

alt text

Start by preheating your oven to whatever temperature it says for the pie crust, or whatever you'd do it at if you made your own instead of having the pre-packaged stuff like mine. In this case it was 450.

Also, the crust doesn't have to be perfect. Round crust in a rectangle pan meant doing some tearing and fixing, but that's okay.

Once your oven is done, go ahead and bake the crust for 15 minutes to get nice and crispy.

alt text

It's not perfect, but it'll do!

alt text

Now you can go ahead and melt your chocolate. I did mine in the microwave at 30 second intervals and stirring between each time it came out until it was liquid smooth but if you prefer the double boiler method that works too.

Once it's smooth spread it out over the crust. Doesn't have to look perfect, just get as much of the area as you can.

alt text

Sprinkle the toppings on while the chocolate is still warm and pliable. Press down a little if you have to just to make sure everything is secure, then shove it in the fridge or simply leave it out overnight to harden.

alt text

Break apart, eat and enjoy! The pie crust is flaky and a little messy, but it's whatever. And like I said at the beginning, the perfect compliment to the sweetness of the chocolate. Next time I might add pretzels just to have some more savory, but overall I'm very happy with this result :D

Banner was made by me in Photoshop. All other pictures here were taken by me specifically for this post. I have been a home cook for over a decade, and any questions or comments about this recipe are encouraged!

SB_new.png



This is posted on steemkitchen.com - Featuring the greatest recipes and food blogs posted by members of SteemKitchen On the STEEM Blockchain
View on Steemkitchen
contact us on Discord

Sort:  

Found you on #steemitbloggers @sigilmancy. And I will have to avoid your blog... It looks delicious and evil!

Ahaha, thanks XD And yes, I do a lot of desserts now so you'll want to avoid if you're on a diet or something ;)

What a simple and easy recipe! This would appeal to the inner-child in all of us! Thanks for sharing with #steemitbloggers 😊


You have received an upvote from cooggerup and all the users that have joined the trail with you that has available upvote power.


Thank you for supporting steemkitchen community that is part of the Coogger Ecosystem.

Contact us on Discord

Chocolate and pretzels on that would be a wonderful mix :D I'd eat them for sure 😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67