You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Making Bobotie - South African Sweet Curry

in #steemkitchen6 years ago

Reminds me a lot of local institutional cooking, too. A million things to make with mince and all of that. My father went to boarding school and Bobotie was forbidden in our house, I think he'd had enough of it, lol. Normally it's just made with a couple of raisins and a thin layer of egg, that one looks pretty decadent.

Sort:  

First time I tried it and it was delicious! I'm going to make it again and put it in a loaf pan. The ones with dried apricots sound good too. This was the first time I heard of ground beef being called mince. The only mince I knew of was from mincemeat tarts and our version hasn't had meat in it for at least several generations.

Only Americans call mince ground beef, ;)

Canadians too. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62750.78
ETH 2444.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66