Steemkitchen Recipe Contest #2 (Potato Bake Recipe) - Fantail Potatoes

in #steemkitchen6 years ago (edited)

I was super excited to discover another great food contest, this time by @steemkitchen, but sadly missed the deadline for the first one, hope I make it in time today :)

Herewith my entry for Steemkitchen Recipe Contest #2 - Fantail Potatoes

IMG_20180527_132719_1.jpg

Who does not love good comforting food like the faithful old spud - creamy mashed potatoes, baby potatoes served with loads of butter, salt & pepper, baked potatoes filled with sour cream or cheese or whatever filling one can imagine. Then there's the old favourite potato chips or fries, whatever you may call it in your country. Of course potato bakes also became the vogue with everyone adding their own secret ingredients.

My fantail potatoes are baked potatoes with a big difference as you will see.
Fantail potatoes are thinly sliced, but not all the way through, basted from time to time with a white onion & butter basting. The resultant potato is absolutely scrumptious - a nice crispy skin on the outside, but soft and floury inside with the delicious buttery soft onion flavours soaked right through.

Prep time approximately 20 minutes
Cooking time - 1 hour
Serves 8

Ingredients required for 8 servings:

  • 8 regular potatoes
  • 200 gram Butter
  • 1 packet White Onion Soup Powder
    Ingredients.jpg

Method:

  1. Cut off a slice from the base of each potato so it sits nicely.
    IMG_20180527_115259.jpg

  2. Cut narrow vertical slits in the potato, almost to the base, do not cut right through.
    IMG_20180527_115802.jpg

  3. Melt butter & mix in the white onion soup powder.
    IMG_20180527_121258.jpg

  4. Place potatoes in buttered ovenproof dish and generously baste with butter sauce.
    IMG_20180527_121418.jpg

  5. Place in 170 C fan oven for about an hour.
    IMG_20180527_121753.jpg

  6. Baste with the butter sauce from time to time.
    IMG_20180527_124359.jpg

  7. Remove from oven when potatoes are soft inside when pricked with a fork and brown on the outside.
    IMG_20180527_131546.jpg

  8. Place in serving dish, again basting the potatoes with the delicious butter sauce.
    IMG_20180527_132703.jpg

Fantail potatoes are ideally served for dinner with a gorgeous roast or a barbeque, but is equally satisfying as a light meal served with only a salad.
IMG_20180528_131206_1.jpg

All squishy inside filled with the butter sauce.
IMG_20180527_133648.jpg

Thank you for reading my post, please let me know if you try your hand at making this, I guarantee you will not be disappointed!

For all the busy bodies, here's a quick look-see of the whole process:
IMG_20180527_114925_1-ANIMATION.gif


Original Content by @lizelle
Thank you for stopping by; comments, upvotes and resteems all much appreciated :)
Copyright @lizelle - All Rights Reserved
signature

Team South Africa banner designed by @bearone

SteemEngine.gif

Sort:  

Oh wow, that looks wonderful. I haven't come across fan potatoes before. Will definitely give this one a bash with my next braai or roast :)

It's really delicious @therneau, I'd forgotten this old recipe!

In my house, they were called Hasselback potatoes. I believe that they have a Swedish origin. This is a bit of trivia. In any case, they are most delicious and your photos do them justice.

You're right @cecicastor, strangely enough I've just seen a recipe for Hasselback Butternut, interesting that it originates in Sweden, thank you for that little titbit :)

You are welcome!

Hello friend @lizelle how are you all at home?

This recipe is very good, it is so easy with few ingredients and we are going to those who do not like potatoes and only the potato is very versatile you can prepare it in so many ways

Hi Jenni, that's the beauty of it, you hardly need anything! It's also nice with brown onion soup powder! Hope you're well :)

That looks very tasty. Besides the incredible taste I have eaten the potato with butter and very good you know that I like to add it? a bit of cheese any type of cheese that combination is incredible, I really liked this recipe I hope you find yourself well my friend

Oh I agree @yesslife, cheese & potatoes is a winning combo! Hope you're also well, take care :)

Just learn a new way to cook potato thanks to you!

You must try that potato recipe, it is absolutely scrumptious!

Its so yummy! thanks for share, ofcourse I will try it at my home.

It is a delicious recipe, thanks for stopping by @sbaby!

This is a favourite of mine. Havent made it in ages. I also use brown onion soup power with this recipe.

It's an ancient recipe that I'd forgotten about, I also used to make it with brown onion soup but I think it's much nicer with white onion soup powder, found it in an old recipe book published by the old Potato Board, don't think they exist these days ;)

The best thing is the potatoes with butter, I like to also put butter to the puree of potatoes and boiled potatoes with a little butter is the best, I love this recipe the truth I love potatoes

Butter is a must to bring out the flavour hey!
Nice to see you again @andrina :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62763.51
ETH 2579.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72