Spring Salad

in #steemkitchen6 years ago

sprimgsalad.png

Tastiest, easiest spring salad ever! I picked this recipe up on a friend’s Facebook post. I believe it comes from Greta, one of the author’s of Looney Spoons. I have changed it by adding the black beans and the cumin. Here's the basic recipe...though I didn't really measure or follow a recipe...just sorta whipped it together.

Rinse the Chickpeas and the Black Beans.

Mix the Chickpeas and the Black Beans together.

Cut the Red onion finely and add to the peas and beans. Peel the cucumber then dice it. I usually add more cucumber.

Halve the tomatoes and add to mixture. At this point I add the dressing. I think the salad tastes better if this is done the day before however this is not totally necessary.

Just before serving add the avocado.

Ingredients for Spring Salad

  • 1 can (19 oz/540 ml) chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can (15 oz/398 ml) Black Beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1/2 a large English cucumber, peeled and diced
  • 1 small container grape tomatoes, halved or quartered
  • 1/4 cup minced red onions
  • 1 avocado, diced (Or about 1/4 cup crumbled feta cheese)

Toss all together in large bowl.

Ingredients for Dressing

  • Juice of one large lemon
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 tsp Dijon mustard
  • 1 tsp honey or maple syrup
  • 1 tbsp minced fresh dill
  • ¼ tsp cumin

Whisk together then pour dressing over salad and mix well. Add sea salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste.

I make this ahead of time and just add the avocado at the last minute.

Images from my iPhone

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67978.59
ETH 3270.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65