Green lentil falafel feast

in #steemkitchen6 years ago (edited)

image

Happy Saturday, I was trying something new today, green lentil falafel. I also made some mayo for a pasta salad, and this time it was nice and thick.

Ingredients for falafel

550g cooked lentil
1 onion
4 garlic cloves
1 cup of bread crumbs
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
Half a teaspoon dried parsley
A pinch of salt and pepper

I put the cooked lentils on a tray with onion and garlic and baked it for 10 minutes

image

Threw it in a food processor and blended it up

image

Then chucked it into a bowl and added bread crumbs, and the spices and mixed up

image

Then I formed nice little pebble shaped falafels and baked them till golden brown and crispy

image

I have tried to make mayo before and was a little disappointed because it was runny, this time I used a different oil, sunflower oil, and it was nice and thick. Another trick is to introduce the oil slowly while the chickpea water is blending.

Ingredients for mayo

1 cup sunflower oil
Half a cup chickpea water (aquafaba)
1 teaspoon dark sugar
1 and a half teaspoons apple cider vinegar
1 teaspoon hole grain mustard

First I put everything except the oil in the blender

image

After a few seconds I slowly added the oil

image

Then carried on blending for a few minutes until thick, wierd thing, it got quite warm.

image

For the salad I just made some pasta with sweet corn and green beans, once it cooled down I added some sour kraut, you don't want sour kraut to get warm because it has probiotics and you don't want to kill the good bacteria in it.

image

For the falafels I made a side of tomatoes, cucumber, red pepper, avo and sour kraut. Oh and some pittas

image

You can also see in the picture some home made sugar free lemonade my daughter made.

image

Thanks for stopping by, and enjoy the rest of your weekend.

Sort:  

Damn i love some falafel and these stuffed look amazing

Faaaaccckkkk… falafel is my ultimate favorite and these look magnificent. I love that they are made from lentils rather than chickpeas too. You crushed this one @gguy773! Should @dandays and I ever end up in your hood I know where we are stopping for lunch 😉.

Thanks, awesome, anytime 😁

Ooooo! Yum! I love falafel. And using green lentils is a brilliant idea @gguy773.

Thanks buckaroo

Damn, you inspired me to try to make my first falafel. Never knew it was that simple. I still have lots of rescued lentil from our pickups that i can use.

Awesome, yeah it is dead easy

Will it taste the same if I use red lentils?

Posted using Partiko Android

I guess it would, it is the spices that gives it its defining taste. Let me know what it is like.

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54384.85
ETH 2275.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33