SteemKitchen Recipe Contest 6 (Week 5 breakfast): Chocolate coffee bean granola (vegan)

in #steemkitchen6 years ago (edited)

HKM_5677.JPG

If you have a coffee addiction, I may just have the perfect breakfast recommendation for you (by feeding your addiction, not helping you come out of it!).

HKM_5635.JPG

I must admit however, coming from England and living in China, I am more of a tea drinker than a coffee fiend, but I do enjoy the odd cup as a weekend treat. Many of my friends back in England also follow this ritual, but tend to use it on weekdays to stop them from snoozing on their daily commute. However, my German boyfriend, his family and his entire friends circle, religiously enjoy at least five cups of coffee throughout the day, everyday, just for pleasure rather than functional purposes!

HKM_5593.JPG

His family love coffee so much that they decided to open a coffee roastery! What I like about his beans (and not just because he’s my boyfriend – I’m not marketing his coffee or anything!), is that they are gently roasted so they’re stomach-friendly, which is good for me, as I have issues with EVERYTHING (with IBS and all that shizzle). Although, I still prefer tea to coffee, but he doesn’t hold it against me!

HKM_5625.JPG

Anyway, long story short, there are many leftover beans, which if not consumed or taken home by staff, go to waste. I hate wasting, so I just decided to take them home and coat them in chocolate (the grounds remaining from the beverages are an excellent fertiliser for your plants). I will say this- coating coffee beans in chocolate was one of the longest, most tedious processes I’ve encountered in my kitchen life, so don’t feel guilty if you buy them for the recipe!

HKM_5632.JPG

However, if you do decide to make them yourself, use good quality chocolate (dairy-free if vegan) and apply the same principle to the coffee beans. The process involves sticking a pile of beans into a bowl of melted chocolate, coating them fully, pulling out a forkful at a time to let the excess chocolate drip through and then lifting each individual bean from the fork with mini tongues or tweazers onto a sheet of greaseproof paper to allow them to dry – and they can’t touch each other. Long right?!

HKM_5702.JPG

HKM_5603.JPG

But what do I do with the tonnes of chocolate coated beans, apart from give them to people as gifts or let them sit in my fridge?? Well if many people typically drink it in the mornings to keep them awake, doesn’t it make sense to incorporate them into breakfast somehow?! That’s how the idea of coffee granola sprung to mind. I’ve never actually made granola, but I’m not sure why. It’ so bloody expensive, but now that I realise how easy it is to make, my days of buying this stuff at extortionate prices is history!

HKM_5641.JPG

HKM_5674.JPG

Serving size:
Roughly 15 portions

Ingredients:
• Chocolate coated coffee beans (don't go too crazy!)
• 300g oats
• 75g walnuts
• 75g almonds
• 75g cashews
• 75g dried fruit (I used dried cherries and cranberries)
• 60ml rapeseed oil
• 60ml agave nectar
• 1 tsp cinnamon
• 1 tsp vanilla extract

Method:

  1. Combine together the oats, oil, honey, cinnamon and vanilla extract
  2. Spread out evenly on a flat baking tray and bake at 150C for 35-40 minutes
  3. Gently mix in the dried fruit and nuts and allow to cool.
  4. Once the granola is cool, add in chocolate coated coffee beans
  5. Store in an airtight jar or container.

Now you can enjoy an over-sized, non-expensive bowl of granola, with milk, or yoghurt or anything you want! I went all out and drizzled some dairy-free melted chocolate over the top, combined with a tad coconut milk to make it more of a sauce.

HKM_5670.JPG

Sort:  

Hi, thank you for supporting the steemkitchen #tag and community.

Steemkitchen is a brand new initiative where we want to build a community/guild focused purely on the foodie followers and lovers of the steem blockchain.

Steemkitchen is out of the conceptual phase and growing each day. We would love to hear your thoughts and ideas.

We are almost ready to Launch the first Decentralized Recipe and Food Blog Website that will utilize the Steem BlockChain and its community to reward contributions by its members.

Please consider joining us at our discord server https://discord.gg/XE5fYnk

Kind Regards

@steemkitchen

Ps. Please reply “No Vote” if you prefer not to receive this vote and comment in the future.

Such Indulge! My mouth is watering right now.. Heaven breakfast! Y U M
Your entries are Top! From recipe to apresentation, they are really amazing! keep going with it @ foodflaneur cause you are very talented! lots of love

Thank you so much @andabout :-) you are also very talented with your delicious dishes and great presentation too!

Oh my word @foodflaneur, how do you do it, this is a stunning entry. I'm not big into breakfast but have to drink a cup of dark roast coffee first thing in the morning! Beautiful photos as well :)

Well i really think this breakfast is right up your alley if you love your morning coffee @lizelle! Thank you :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55216.42
ETH 2325.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33