"Steemit Engagement Challenge S3-W1: My dreams in childhood by @unexeverything."

in #steemkids-s3w12 years ago (edited)

steemit.png

My dreams in childhood by @unexeverything

Well I dreamed of a lot of things when I was a kid. A life like the Huxtables kids had (Cosby Show reference). Parents like they had. A house like they had. However, over time the more that seemed to be unlikly as a child I shrunk my goals down to basic needs. When your a child you don't have much say. What you eat, when you eat, where you live, where you go to school etc. However, my childhood dreams didn't stay stagnant for long. I wanted to make a Huxatables life for me and my future children. That ended up being the dream. I wanted my kids to never worry about adult things like I did. Didn't want them to jump from fear of being abused when I walked in a room, like I did. I wanted them to feel loved, supported and not want for a thing. I wanted them to not worry if they are going to eat. I wanted them to not worry if they had to think about being poor, homeless etc. I put all the dreams I had for myself on pause to give it to my child or any child I could help. I am currently in my 40's and I know what I survived is inhumane. The paying it forward method has worked for me. My childhood dream was for no kid to feel how I felt as a kid. As far as a career, I ended up being a systems engineer. Luckily I love computers and the salary helps me with achieving my own version of the Huxtables. I initially as a kid dreamed of being a oceanographer. I had a hard time with this when I got older because I wasn't aware of all of the dangerous things in the water (city kid). So that was a no go. I also fell in love with #writing and dreamed of being a poet, I quickly found this more of a hobby and sometimes etch out some poems. I hope this was helpful and at a minimum encouraging to help someone know that there's always something we can do to make the world better. Lastly this is my first post on steeemit. I hope to explain more in depth how my upbringing shaped and shapes how I view the world and where I fit in it.

Sort:  
Loading...

Hello @unxeverything thanks for taking part in a contest in our community, and sharing with us your childhood dreams, well your dreams may be delayed but as long as you're committed to it, then you will achieve it trust your intuition.

Note I won't grade you because you're not qualified to join this contest. You need to write your introductory post in the newcomers community and be verified there first before you can write in other communities

Absolutely I can say that you were having good dream for your seft and I believe God answer your prayers .
You dream of becoming oceanographer was a challenge but it's time though our dream delay but God always answer our player

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59231.42
ETH 2599.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45