Steemit myths: Never argue in the comment section

in #steemjet6 years ago (edited)

images(1).png

never ever argument in the comment section; never ever disagree with an author, especially one with a bigger steempower than yours. They will never upvote you again.

One thing you are going to run into a lot as a redfish that is eager to succeed is a lot of complacent people who patronise you with their supposed knowledge of the blockchain, and you might have had to play along just so you can get those upvotes. I have had my fair of these sets of persons. You will find them a lot on discord. The above statement was from an anchor of a live group chat on discord. To be honest I believed this statement and it made a lot of sense at that time. In fact on my first account I was one of the most notorious Yesmen on this platform. I stroked the egos of people who I did not agree because I wanted their juicy upvotes. Unfortunately they did not come that much. I spent time on discord singing and dancing in other to gain the attention of certain people I thought will help my course not knowing I was taking a detour.

I think most people know when their egos are being stroked unnecessarily. I read an article about a month ago by one of the big fishes, who stated that that she was amazed by how many people put up with her B******t. I'm trying to imagine her laughing her a** out whilst reading some the buttered comments from people trying to embellish her b******t (she used that word a lot), I might have been one of them. So we, the ego strokers, were not just playing the fool, we were actually the fools.

We've fallen for this myth that we have to be overly nice to garner support, becoming Yesmen to every and anything. This is a very pathetic behaviour which I'm trying to drop. There is a saying that a relationship where there are no arguments is a relationship built on lies. No matter how align your goals and ideas are with someone else, there are certain things you will not agree on and this is a good things. Arguments have been given a negative connotations, along with some many other things, which is not suppose to be so. Arguments help define, redefine and consolidate thoughts/ideologies. The early philosophers spent time in inns (or where ever they deemed fit) sharing their ideas, and they were not received with open arms. They spent time arguing the basis of their theories and this did not necessarily destroy their relationships but it helped them have a border look at their ideas and postulations.

If you're going to trade your conscious for some coins then I really do not know what to call you--I do but I'm going to resist the impulse. But let me assure you that your true self will eventually come forth. After all the phony comments and arse-licking your true self will burst out like a raging bull and you will catch your benefactors off guard. Eventually you will be tagged a fraud. Out of the window your suppose friendships and relationships will be thrown. We fail to understand that this is a relatively new platform and as time goes on more people will join and you might not need the people you so desperately cling to for upvote, that you deprive yourself from some wholesome honesty. As you become more comfortable you begin to exhibit some of your true traits and boom! Someone unearths one of your old post showing where you have been complacent and you find yourself in a difficult situation where you have to start explaining yourself. So if you ask me, I will say save yourself the stress. If there is going to a change in your ideologies some years from now it should be one that is genuine, where you don't have difficulty in explaining your old or new stance.

You can disagree without being rude. Tackle the issue not the person. This approach will not hurt the relationship you're trying to build, well, except if the person(s) you're dealing with is immature. I think the author will appreciate such genuine comments, and it will lead to more conversations, unearthing their misconception or yours. Yes, you can be wrong as well. Sometimes our opinion on certain issues are not as holistic as we deem it to be, that's where conversations play a critical role in debunking our wrong notions of things.

I think the most important thing here is being true to yourself. There are many ways the world has devised to shut our voices, and we have this unique opportunity on this platform to be our true selves, without fear or apologies, so why mortgage it for some coins?

png.png

Vote @kevinwong for witness

Go here: https://steemit.com/~witnesses
Look for @kevinwong and vote.

Alternatively, you can vote through Steemconnect here:

https://steemconnect.com/sign/account-witness-vote?witness=kevinwong&approve=1

Sort:  

Well said!

The original meaning of the word argument was actually more along the lines of a discussion with different viewpoints. It didn't mean the shouting match that we have come to think of it as today.

There quite possibly are some writers who won't like you adding a differing viewpoint and they are best left alone. However, in my experience, if something is well written, particularly in a debating kind of way, then the author is usually not only open to other viewpoints, but often welcomes debating them.

As long as everyone is respectful, it's a great experience and we can never learn about others experiences or viewpoints if we aren't open to debate.

That's why I said in my post that when it comes to discussions we should tackle the issue not the person. Character assault is unacceptable, name calling will not help either. So, if we focus on the subject matter of the discussion I believe every argument with be worthwhile. Let's not forget the irrational impulse to always be right. Some people do not like to be wrong, that can lead to resentment for other people with different views from theirs

Let's not forget the irrational impulse to always be right.

Yes, why it's it so hard to be proven wrong?

I think maybe you scared a few people. ;-}. I try to stay positive on steemit, that does not mean that I kowtow to the whims of the whales or the whims of the redfish. There are a few people that I do not mind offering my differing opinion to. They are sincere in the asking of the opinion, and are open to the thoughts of others. this is pretty easy to discern if a person looks at the other conversations they have had.

I have also had people end conversations with silly remarks because they were unable to substantiate their view point, when their own hypocrisy was pointed out. A few flagged me, and I remained, (or tried to), polite and told them that I would put them on mute so they did not have to be bothered by my point of view. I gave them a chance to respond, and then whether they responded or not, I muted them. I have a big mute list.

The silliest end the debate conversation was "you don't understand natural law", the debate was about guns, me pro, them anti. Natural law would be I have a gun you don't what are you going to do about it. He just responded the same thing that "you don't understand natural law". Go figure, he went on mute, he is still on mute.

People tend to resist message that expose their not so good side. Imagine telling a thief that he/she is a thief to their face, its unacceptable, however, it is true. So if this is offending some people then there might be some truth in this.

This herd mentality must stop. We should all have minds of our own and express our thoughts adequately. We cannot be diplomatic all the time in other to please both sides of a conversation. Better still reserve your comment instead of spewing lies.
We might not see eye to eye on a subject, but it's better knowing the other person will be as honest as possible with you. Those kind of persons one can trust.

I think it is best to just speak one's mind but not in a mean or unthoughtful way. I don't mind if someone disagrees with me. In fact, I encourage discussion.

We just have to think about how the other person will receive our comments. It does no one any good if the comments are taken out of context. I believe that hate and anger arise from misunderstanding. True communication can be a very difficult thing to achieve!

I believe that hate and anger arise from misunderstanding

True that. A lot can be easily misconstrued and it takes great discipline to address people's misconception. Language can be a very dicey, people read different meaning to what is been said. Sometimes, even the author may not convey his ideas or thoughts properly. That's why I feel the comment section is a place to address all these things.

However been Straightforward can be tagged as been rude. For example, this article. I tried to be plain as possible without using any form of diplomacy. The message might offend some, while others might get the message. In the end it is all balls down to our understanding.

Congratulations @nonsowrites! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63651.41
ETH 2679.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80