This was meant to be my steemiversar post, but now its my goodbye

in #steemiversary6 years ago (edited)

Tuesday 3 pm – 14 Aug 2018
Wow, so its been a year already.
Time has just flown.
In the past 12 months, I've seen the rise and fall of bitcoin, the fall and fall and fall and fall and rise and fall and fall again of steem. An attack on the steem blockchain, byteballs scams, the birth of master-node coins
the dumping of all the btc earned by those scammy master-node coins, and the loss of friends and family.

When I first heard about steemit, I thought, ooh, a proof of brain coin.
Finally something I might be able to earn.
Sadly, I was wrong.
Steemit isn't about proof of life, proof of brain, etc.
sadly, steemit is the same as any other coin out there.
Its proof of wallet.
The haejins of the platform showed me this.
And the Jerry Banfields.
Like, really.
How can a video of a guy sucking his own dick, make a thousand $
or 2 pictures with a couple lines a hundred, 10 times a day.

And someone that points out the fact that YouTube supports terrorism more than the people that are against it?

It just doesn't make sense. I've seen so much potential talent quit this platform.
Maybe they came in with the wrong attitude. That the things they were sharing were important to the people. That the truth needs to be told.
But shouldn't a documented, with sources, 2000 word essay, make more money, than, a cat with 3 word text?

Yeah, I'm looking at you, I can has cheezburger plagiarisers.
If I wanted memes, id join a meme site.
Id google 'funny cat memes'
if I want real news, ill come to the blockchain. Ill come to where the media isn't muted 9 or at least I thought it was immutable – turns out, if u have enough money, and u don't like what someone say, u just flag them to oblivion. Wipe them out. Make them invisible.

That to me shows this place is still the same as the fake news sites we see in mainstream media.
Shouldn't this site be about everyone having their say? If nothing else, to open up communications. Debates. On taboo subjects.
Shouldn't we be able to use this platform, to change humanity?
Imagine what the haejins and the other whales on this platform, could do, if, just for a week, they pointed their up-votes at Venezuelans.

Or Nigerians.
The people that cant afford to live.
Hell. Look in your own back yard. Look at how many of the veterans that defended your country. The people that have ensured your freedoms to have your say, and look at how many are on the street.
Not sure the exact count, as I am offline whilst I type this, but, I imagine the odds are staggering.

Hell, I'm in Australia, and we have a population that's almost hit the 25 million mark.
And we have 22,000 kids sleeping on the street each year. Hell, I was one of them from 2001-2009.
and as weird as it sounds, it was better than how i'm living now.
Now I have an income of $300/w and my rent and elec is $275.
that leaves me $25/w to eat.
And it's hard.
So I post. Day after day, without fail.
Its hard, but I have to do it.
Or I will not survive.
But, as hard as my struggle is, and I joke, that i'm eating ramen for nearly every meal.
But yet, I am thankful. Because, as hard as my struggle is, I can AFFORD ramen.
And that's why I get pissy at these whales that self vote for $100 EVERY COMMENT.
I get it, you want your ROI. But u get that, if u spread that love, u might change a life, right?
That a simple $5 up-vote on someones post, is enough to feed them and their family for a week, right?

Where is the humanity?

It annoys me that, bitcoin was a fuck you to the monopoly on money that the banks had. We were sick of the 1% having all the money. But look around people. Its happening here too. Different money, same politics.

I see people asking 'when moon'? All the time. So I ask them. Do u have active sells? 'yes'. Are they in the next 1% of the sell wall? Yes. OK, so, maybe move them up 10%. stop filling the sell wall. One cant moon, if there is a wall.

I also ask, do u have a buy? No
wtf why not?
If I want a coin, I put in a small buy, at the top of the list. I want coins. Sell to me.
Another buy replaces it. By 1 sat.
no. I up my price 10 sat. u want it more than me, u pay more than 1 sat more.
Lowly the price goes up.
Little by little
Eventually, someone sells to me.
I put that coin I bought, boom, 50% more than I paid (buy 1k, sell 1.5k)
I do this 20 times a day ( at least I did before 'the incident')
I started trading in 2016. I was collecting 5c here, 1 c there, every 5 min on some sites, hourly on others. Doesn't sound like much. But December 2017, all those drips here and there, if not for the shit that happened, id have 20k USD in my pocket. I'd have cashed out by the time it had dropped to 15k, and id probably have been all in again by the time it hit 8k.

Anyways, bus ride over, so ill maybe continue this at a later date. This is 20 minutes of my 'disconnected brain'
amazing what u can accomplish when you're offline for an hour.
Try it. U may surprise yourself.

Pony out.

PS I never did get to finish this post.
PPS never will.

Bye steemians. Enjoy your circle jerk without me.
no doubt this post will earn me flags on all my previous posts.
but at this point, it doesnt matter anymore.

Sort:  

i'm sorry to hear that, man ...

i'm not your daddy so i'm not going to make a plea, it's your life, your decision and i wholeheartedly agree with what you communicate there
but
that just means its a mirror of "real life" here, which was to be expected, its just easier if you come into the game with daddymoney, that's been a fact since the dawn of money ...

i dont want to manipulate or influence but please take some time to step aside and think before you clear out the account, even if you stop posting or interacting, it still might be worth a lot a few years from now, no one can predict that, the people with a crystal ball are mostly full of hot air and make money on selling dopamine to the gully and those who WANT to believe its a certainty and are easily convinced by someone juggling some numbers around ... the anticipation

as Lemmy would say : the chase is better than the catch

it would be sorrry if steem rises to even as little as $5 and you cleared it all out right now,

and if you decide to comeback or stay, you know where to find , right :)

stay safe

btw, that looks a lot more like a trojan horse than a pony there ;-)

Noooo @dunstuff !!!! At least, can you recount the positives you've seen on the platform here in a post?

Because where you're leaving to... It's more of the same, hidden from plain view. Although if you find a place where I'm wrong about it, do let me know!

You know what's unique to this platform though? It's all freaking transparent. Where the money is, how it is getting assigned, who is assigning it. One thing to note here is that as the platform grows, and more people stake, it chips away from the % stake involved in this self jerking, all it takes is to keep like minded people like the people at @helpie doing good for the community.

But forget about that, actually look at the kind of communities that this platform has enabled to form, and spreading money to places where it otherwise would not be possible. The things you mention about the poor not getting attention, it is happening here, there's plenty of examples like what @youarehope has done. Those Nigerians and Venezuelans you brought up, some of them are here and it had made such a huge difference. There's so much positive activity amongst the shitty behavior you cite, which I'm not discounting by the way.

My point is, in spite of behavior that is unproductive for growth, we have growth. It would be sad to see you go honestly, at least from the little time I have interacted with you. But before you go, I do ask that you first generate a list of positive things that you have seen. Then make the decision.

Posted using Partiko Android

FOR TSE: Here and in "the real world" people need to reclaim the power of unified action. If we did that we could change this place ... here and in "the real world." There are a hell of a lot more of "us" than there are of "them." Do you suppose they've ever thought about that -- and what it could mean ... if the tide were to change?

This is too bad you've decided to bail on the platform. It's easy to let the big accounts and what they do or don't do get you down. We can't change them, they are going to do what they are going to do.

There are also large accounts who are out there helping the smaller accounts as much as they can. Not all the whales delegate to bidbots, some of them delegate to projects supporting smaller members.

You can let the negative get to you and influence you to leave OR you can decide what you want your role to be. If you enjoy writing or your photography, then keep sharing and networking. If you get 50 cents for a post here, it is 50 more than you get on other social media sites like Facebook.

What ever you decide. It's been nice getting to know you in PYPT and the other places I've crossed paths with you @dunstaff.

@shadowspub

what she said 👆🏽👆🏽👆🏽💜💜💜

I'm sad to see you go. It's true there is gross inequality in voting on valueless posts, we all see the disparity. Hugs. My wallet is anorexic, too, no matter what I post.

what she said too 👆🏽👆🏽👆🏽💜💜💜

Sorry to hear your leaving, there are things you could do to increase your visibility though. I notice you do hiking posts, so do I.., try using some of the travel tags and the curation groups will notice you.

Try travel travelfeed steemitworldmap. use steemitworldmap and place your location on the map and add the link to your post. travelfeed like hike's, but you should add some pictures to them.

Don't use steemit to post. use either busy.org and use the busy tag, or use esteem surfer for your better stuff. In case (1) you will get an upvote, in case (2), you may get a more significant upvote. using steemit to post will yield you nothing.

I'm sure you know some of this already, but I hate to see established people leave. I gave you a big upvote, and not the flag that you said you were expecting.

I was at the same stage as you once, and someone wrote something like this to me, and I stayed. I'm trying to pass on the favour.

right in the feels :)

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

Congratulations @dunstuff! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Yeah i know what you mean about the value of work some people have put in.. I get frustrated by the 'popularity' of simplistic pictures and 'shit-posts' over well researched and quality content.
Seems to me that SteemIt and every other reward platform have become places where no one is bothered about anything other than their reward, their little focus and slice of the pie.
I got into it as another blogging platform, but too are finding the interaction limited.....
Hope your journey goes well...
Good Luck.

While you are not wrong about a lot stuff here, please dont be just another statistic. Your not powering down right? 'Steemit' is still in beta and will change dramatically as we move forward in this experiment, I feel.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64192.94
ETH 2764.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65