Steemit Ultimate Challenge Week 5: The Journey of A Thousand Miles Begins With A Step

in #steemitultimatechallenge6 years ago (edited)

Success is not final, failure is not fatal: it is the courage to continue that counts...
Winston Churchill

It was this quote that gave me the much needed courage to try again after my first attempt was rebuffed.

Many thanks to @dobartim who has been much of an inspiration to, not just me....but many.

His mantra "Success is achievable" has been my daily breathe since I came in contact with him.

Need I say more?
He's the brain behind this contest. Steemit Ultimate Challenge. A challenge where you are granted the chance to bring your life bare....

Thanks for this opportunity Sir @dobartim.

Writing a 1000 word limit isn't an easy task, especially when you're doing it for the second time.

For the sake of those reading this for the first time, here's a peek into the chambers of my life's rudiment.

A Brief Introduction

My name is Juliet Israel, the second out of seven children.

I'm an introvert, a shy and of course, reserved lady.

I'm a Nigerian from Edo State, a state with diverse views from people in my country.

A lot of people have different opinion about people from my state and right from college, I've been called names of all kind.

Being a shy and quiet girl, I've had to suppress my anger and hold it all in, despite the hurt and abuses.

I get hurt easily but I never voice out...for fear of hurting the other person.
image

My Steemit Journey.

I joined Steemit January 2018 and since then, I've had a new definition of life altogether.

Steemit has given me a platform to be a voice as I've always wanted to be.

I have learned, un-learned, and re-learned since my journey on Steemit.

Thanks to Steemit, introverts like me now have a voice.

Steemit Vibes

So, like I said, I'm an introvert, and of course, introverts don't make noise hence my quiet nature.

I love singing, I love music.

But I have never really voiced out, never joined the choir or any singing group, for fear of being laughed at.

But, after joining Steemit, a friend @ewuoso realised I could sing and encouraged me to enter a singing competition.

At first, I was skeptical about it.
I mean, who wouldn't?

I have never sang outside the shores of my bathroom before.

Wouldn't singing on Steemit be ridiculous?

I went back and forth on the whole idea but he wouldn't let me be.

He kept insisting I gave singing a shot until I finally did and the feedback I got was overwhelming.

After then, he didn't have to beg me to sing anymore.

I kept singing at least every week and got better by the day.

Last week, at the office, a colleague who had worked with us for well, over 11 years was leaving and they decided to throw a party for him, to appreciate his diligence over the years.

They had to put together a program of event and someone suggested I sang since I was always singing...albeit recently....at the office.

I took the challenge and for the first, I wrote a self composed song that was sang at the send off party.

I forgot to do a recording of myself....singing, so I decided to sing the song I wrote for the colleague here.
Watch below.

This really meant a lot of things to me and I learned a few things from the experience.

  1. Everyone needs that one person who will strongly believe in them and push them to achieve greatness.
    Let that person be you.
  1. Be sincere in your accolades. I started believing in myself and my singing capabilities when I heard sincere remarks from people who heard me sing....@ewuoso, @oyinoza, @dayjee, @tony-duke, @gallantmayor, @kodeblacc and many others.

I'm glad to be a part of this Steemit platform, as I've learned, unlearned, and relearned even in my short time here.

Business Communication

Yeah, I've gleaned ample information on farming since I joined this community.
I get my inspiration daily from @gloeze and @ewuoso as they both own a farm.

I've always wished to own one too but funds had been my setback.
I do hope that by this challenge, I'll be able to pull in the funds needed for the startup.

Giving Back To The Community

I'm not perfect but I'm striving towards perfection.

Giving back to the community which has given me so many reasons to smile has always been my dream.

Though I've not really had the opportunity as I've not gained substantial fund from my earnings on Steemit, hence the restrictions.

I was this close to tears when I read a post of a steemian who was held down at the hospital due to her inability to pay her bills. She had an ectopic pregnancy and was in pains.
She couldn't pay her fees, hence her stay in the hospital elongated.
Read Full Post Here: https://steemit.com/charity/@steemhelpinghand/nw7r3igm

I decided to take it upon myself and share the information with friends.

Knowing my upvote would mean next to or nothing, I decided to support with 3SBD, though, I felt bad it was too meager as opposed to the amount needed for her discharge, I felt fulfilled in a way that I was contributing and it was from my heart.

image

image

Steemit has affected me in many ways and I can only show my appreciation by giving my best back to the community.

Being part of the Steemit School, an initiative of @dobartim is my way of rendering my voice to the community.

I hope I win this and it goes a long way to encourage others that consistency pays.

It is very important to believe in yourself, even if no one does.

Never give up, no matter how difficult things may seem.

See you at the top.

To participate or learn more about the Steemit Ultimate Challenge as organised by @dobartim, please visit this link:

https://steemit.com/steemitultimatechallenge/@dobartim/7rpf5k-steemit-ultimate-challenge-8-weeks-prize-fund-2000-sbd-week-5-registration-is-in-progress

Sort:  

Huh??
Nice post huh??
Did you read it sef??

I love your voice and confidence

Thanks...as for the confidence, Steemit gave it to me...lol

Steemit is life changing dear and it has impacted us in so many good ways. Thanks for sharing this master piece.

I wish you best of luck.

Your boy
@abasifreke.

My boy that is my Uncle Abas?
Lol

Thanks much jare

For what it's worth, I've watched some recordings of you singing from @ewuoso's whatsApp status and they've always given me reasons to watch new ones...
It's good you've finally been able to come out with the talent, such incredible voice shouldn't be kept shut at all.

Oh really?
Smiles....
Thanks much.

My dear, I didn't know I had such talent too o...

I've always made it plain

Thanks for Steemit though....
I see myself in another light.

Thanks a lot

A lot of people have different opinion about people from my state and right from college, I've been called names of all kind.

I can relate.. I'm from Edo too. We are good people but most people never want to see the good in us, they judge us by what the majority are doing.

Happy for you, steemit has brought out the real you, like getting the courage to create a video
Kudos. I don't think you are shy anymore or are you still shy?

Hahahaha
I don't know if I'm still shy o...lol
Thanks for stopping by dear.

Am happy steemit is helping people and i hope non steemians will open their eyes and see this also

Abi o
they should open their eyes because steemit is changing lives

Steemit have improved everyone here in many positive way, good job here.. Goodluck on this

Yeah it has, thank you

I must say i like and respect you for who you are, you have a good heart ♥️, jovial, kind and caring. I'm so happy that in my journey here on steemit I met someone like you, keep doing what you are doing it will surely pay off someday.

dayjee

Oh Dayjee...
You're gonna make me cry o....

Thanks so much.
Your words brings healing to my soul

Honestly, Steemit has done lot of good things in your life...nice write-up dear... All the best 💋

Yeah it really has....
Thank you so much Prince

This is powerful.
Am glad you were able to help the needy come out of the hospital, this really shows you have a heart of a gold.
About this your sweet voice, i want to assure you that you will someday sing for the kings.

Thank you so much.
Whenever I help someone, I feel this much joy....

About singing for kings, lol
Please become a king so I can start with you o

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60756.34
ETH 3373.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51