Steemit Ultimate Challenge 8 weeks - week #7; HOW STEEMIT CHANGED MY LIFE

in #steemitultimatechallenge6 years ago (edited)

Without mincing words, it is exactly nine (9) days I won the @dobartim "Donation Competition - Win The Lap Top And Donate It". A Ten-days competition aimed at improving and enhancing the idea of steemit blogging (in #dobartim's voice) through reaching out to the less privileged steemians and poor communities around the globe. You can check my winning entry here.

From the link above, you will see that I won 13.5sbd in the competition which was indeed a life changer for both me and my family,but the question I am guessing you may ask, is HOW?

Well, steem dollar(sbd) equivalent in Nigeria currency (naira) at the time I won this competition was #900 I naira for 1sbd and so 13.5sbd gave me #12,150 naira at the time. With this cash in hand, I quickly went to do a market survey for laptops and the prices I got were way too expensive for brand new laptops but quite affordable for fairly used ones. The price range was thirty to forty thousand naira for fairly used mini laptops which were the cheapest I could get, but then, I just had #12,150 that actually spear-headed the urge to turn my steemit blogging around and needed #17,850 to at least meet up with the cheapest mini laptop that was #30,000. I didn't have the money or anywhere to source for it except steemit which would still take a very long time to acquire with the daily fall in steem dollar except a miracle happens and at this point, it was as if all hopes were lost, different thoughts of easy and most convenient ways to squander the cash on frivolities started creeping in and I was just at the edge to lose focus of what I was aiming at;being a better steemian, helping my aging mom with my sisters tuition fees, introducing steemit to both my sisters and the boys in my street with the laptop as a convincing proof to the benefits of being a dedicated steemian.

Shortly, after the market survey incident, I came across a motivational article on steemit that lightened my mood with the caption WINNERS NEVER QUIT, I clicked on it and coincidentally, it looked like the writer made that piece for me specifically. This got me on my feet and by the next day, I was out looking for menial jobs to do. Luckily, I found a poster that advertised vacancies for a home lesson teacher with a phone number to call. I called the number and I was asked to come for interview. To cut long story short, I got the job and my salary was fixed at #20,000 naira per month, I pleaded to be paid my first salary at the beginning of my first month instead of being paid at the ending due to financial problems and I was granted against all odds and it was like a dream come true for me. Today I am a proud owner of a clean fairly used mini laptop (acer product).

IMG_20180318_151645.jpg

IMG_20180319_145613.jpg

Words alone can't express my joy and what I hope to accomplish with this laptop at my disposal. Two of my sisters @ijayiwus-sc and @hopelyntorti are now on steemit and I can now help my mom with my sisters tuition fee through the funds I will get from steemit and my salary.

¶¶ Steeming is now made easy

¶¶ Discord, here I come

¶¶ steemit school, here I come

¶¶ steemit evangelism on my street is on the GO

All Thanks to @dobartim for the 13.5sbd that happened to be a life changer.

I AM SO GRATEFUL

Yours sincerely.

@desmoniac

Sort:  

Congratulations @desmoniac! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @desmoniac! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51