STEEMIT ULTIMATE CHALLENGE 8 WEEKS - WEEK #4" @dorbatim - MY STORY

Hi steemians!

I consider this a very great opportunity to share my steemit experience so far, thanks @dorbatim, @flysky, @aidasfg7 and everyone out there bent on making steemit a better platform for all users and more to come,the beginning surely won't be rosy but the reward will always show forth.

I won't fail to also acknowledge @ejemai, @surpassinggoggle, I have heard and have also witnessed your tireless efforts in growing this community, May God strengthen you all, it's not only them but I wouldn't be able to mention everyone, but be rest assured that all your efforts are not in vain.

Am Cheryl Levi, a young lady, currently serving my fatherland, am a teacher and i love doing that.

Am serving in a secondary school, earlier this year I thought of what to do as a personal community development service as we were encouraged to do, although it's optional as it's a selfless service.

I decided to be taking the female students on "what I call the ladies corner".

Ladies corner is a platform where the girls feel free to express themselves, share their challenges and experiences, also ask questions where necessary and then I teach them with my own experiences, the essence is to guide them so they don't make some mistakes we adults have made in the past.

I intend making the platform a bigger one where i could also have some packages to encourage the girls at the end of our gathering every month, once am financially able to do that.

HOW I HEARD ABOUT STEEMIT.

Ever since ending of December 2017, I had been so positive about the year 2018, I couldn't wait for it to come because I had been declaring that it was my year of exploits and divine upliftment.

My 2017 was very much on a low key, and I had decided that things where going to be different for me in 2018, I was bent on doing everything possible just to see that i develop myself and upgrade my status.

Just on the first of January, I was going through people's status on whatsap, then a friend of mine @kweenbrand made the status "Join me let's blog" and then her second status was "if you are not following me, I wonder whom you are following".

Image source

I didn't understand so I had to private chat her asking her whether she was now a blogger, she said yes, and that she also earns from it.

I asked her to enlighten me more about it, she sent a link immediately for me to register and started telling about the platform.

I registered and i downloaded the discord App, she sent me some links that i joined and i started reading other people's introductory post, from there I was able to make my own and i sent it to her to check it out whether it was okay.

She was surprised I had already made an introductory post even without my account been approved, but then that was just to show how optimistic I was about the whole thing.

I waited for a week and some days without my account approved, I got worried, I didn't know what to do, I had to open another account, which was now approved within seven days.

Those days of waiting was always annoying because I was already in different groups where they talk about steemit but personally I couldn't do anything since my account wasn't approved.

I was so glad that my account had been approved, that day I made my introductory post, @vicessien guided me on that and it was more detailed than the first one I made.

THE JOURNEY SO FAR

For me, joining steemit is still one of the best things that has happened to me this year, that's why I would be forever grateful to @kweenbrand, without her I wouldn't have been in steemit now because no other contact of mine have talked about steemit neither have I seen anyone where I stay that is in this community apart from those am introducing this platform to.

HOW STEEMIT HAS AFFECTED MY LIFE:

  1. FRIENDS: Through this platform I have been able to interact with people from different parts of the world, not just Nigerians but other countries, which I haven't been in any online community where I interact with others from different countries. I can boast of more friends that i can always count on.

@Saini88 and rajapeusangan are my newest friends.

I have come to realise that on steemit you can't make it on your own without friends and followers, they are the reasons behind your growth and successes.

  1. WRITING SKILLS: My writing skills are not perfect yet but it has improved from what it used to be, I could remember two weeks ago, when @utomobong told me about this contest, when I realized it was a minimum of 1000 words I had to withdraw because it seemed too much for me, I was just wondering what I was going to write, I declined, but later I summoned courage to do it because I realized that for you to grow in this community, you don't need to continue in the level you use to operate before, you must have something to offer and you must keep developing yourself, am glad am doing this and the goodnews is that this isn't my first 1000+ post. I will tell you that i enjoy writing now
  • Another aspect of my writing skills that has improved is also in my layout, I remember how I started and it's not how it is now, and I will still keep improving on it.

I could remember earlier when i started i couldn't make a post without @vicessien or @enolife going through it. I wasn't enjoying it that way because sometimes it could take me hours to be able to get their attention till one day @enolife said something in our whatsap group, he said that some of the things we want to know about steemit, we could actually search for it on google and attach the word steemit to it.

That was how I went and typed "markdown codes steemit" and then I was able to see post that people had made on markdown codes, I read them and started applying them and since then my layout has changed.

Another aspect that has improved in my writing is my typying consciousness.

Am being very much careful when am writing, I make sure I go through what I have written, read it over and over again, checking my spellings and grammar.

Also when chatting, am also careful on spellings, there is this habit we have in us, using abbreviations in chatting, but now that i also chat with people that English is not there official and they are trying hard to understand the language, I make sure I don't use abbreviations while chatting.

  1. READING SKILLS: Steemit has helped me improve in my reading skills, personally, I don't like reading long post, but then to effectively communicate with friends you would have to read and understand their posts in order to comment on their posts. Being able to read more has also added to my self development because sometimes we miss so important informations as a result of not reading till we get to the end.
  1. Enlightenment on other platforms : Through friends I have made on steemit and also groups that i belong to where people share about other platforms they discover, I have being able to know about sola and airdrops, thanks to @enolife and @desmonddesk for the enlightenment. I would be making a post about airdrops in my next post, so other people who doesn't know about it would learn.
  1. FINANCIALLY : I haven't benefited much financially from this community but am positive that with time and more work i will get to benefit alot and also help others.
  1. Steemit has thought me patience and tolerance,I meet different people every day in this community with different characters, some characters you just have to deal with it and tolerate them to get what you want. So I would that in life communications with others, steemit is also a d platform for development .

MY CHALLENGE

Most times am not active due to the fact that my phone is not in good condition, I hope to change it as soon as possible in order to be more active in the community or probably getting a laptop that would help me expand my work in terms of promotions and visibility. So am hoping that if I win, I would be able to take care of this.

I also intend working towards "steem up Abia" as I have not seen much people from my area in this community, I have already started working on a group, and I hope to expand it so that we would be able to promote steemit in this region.

That's my story, I hope someone has one thing to learn from it, I believe in steemit, I believe in growth, I believe in productivity, just with time.

Hi friends to participate click Here

Sort:  

I've been looking for @enolife since I joined steemit... I was told of how he teaches people well on steemit.... Nice write up dear

Yea, he is really good

Wow!
This is actually cool

You are very good in writing..
One thing have come to understand is, never underestimate yourself. You thought you couldn't write because you didn't make a move, and now you have seen that you are incomparable with your write-up.
Nothing is impossible, you just have to make a move.
I like this particular project 👉 "what I call the ladies corner"..
My advice is, be cool.
I pray you win this contest so you would be able to get yourself a device to continue bringing beautiful posts to steemit.

Thank you so much, you have inspired me more

You are indeed a good writer, I really wish you success in this contest, Weldone dear

Wow. Am glad you made it to steemit. Best of luck in this contest!

Dope piece dear

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 65435.53
ETH 3559.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48