Steemit Ultimate Challenge 8 Weeks - Week #4

in #steemitultimatechallenge7 years ago (edited)

How Steemit Changed my life

First of all, I will like to thank @dobartim for organizing this contest. I want to also use this opportunity to thank the steemit blockchain for eradicating poverty in some lives especially in my country Nigeria.

IMG_20171214_133248.jpg

I am Bright by name @brightex, a Nigerian with many goals, dreams and others. I am also a medical student in my penultimate year at the University of Nigeria teaching Hospital, Enugu State, Nigeria. I was introduced into the streemit community by Grace @gee1, special thanks to her. I joined the steemit community January this year with my steemit account @brightex82 but due to some circumstances, I was flagged down. Despite this, because of the love of being a steemian and also the benefits attached, I decided to create a new account which is this one @brightex. Ever since joining, my life has never remained the same.

My finances, business, academics, and social life has been something to write about ever since I joined steemit

MY STORY

Life Communication

Life hasn't really been an easy one. I virtually struggled with it. Right from when I was a kid till now, I faced a hard life, struggling for attention even from my family and friends. My relatives leaving in Europe and other continents were all giving deaf ears to my cry. Being the first child in the family, I had so many responsibilities. Out of five, three of us were in higher institutions in different part of the country and things hasn't really been easy for my parents. I had to fend for not just myself but also my siblings. Having my siblings look up to me when parents couldn't help was frustrating, had so many business ideas but no one to sponsor not until I joined steemit. I hardly change my wears and this really affected my self esteem, the inferiority complex became very obvious. I had to go into debts so many times and for so many reasons.
IMG_20180220_091541_443.jpg I and my siblings, the other one who made us five wasn't around as at when this picture was taken

Financial Communication

Financially, I was nothing to write home about. All my days as a student hasn't been easy going at all. Being a medical student is one that requires money as the expenses are much. I had difficulties paying my school fees, and even paying for transport to the teaching hospital. There was no money for textbooks and handouts. Photocopying lecture materials too was just from the small money I make from my small business.

Business Communication

My business has really been growing in size and quality. I met many customers through the various steemit meet-ups. The money I have been getting from steemit has really helped me expand my business from a small scale photocopying business to not only a large scale but also a cyber cafe. My shop is now well aerated with good air conditioning system. Well furnished and customer friendly too all because I was able to uphold and enlarge my business via steemit.

Education Communication

Steemit has really changed my life. I enjoy school more now because there is less stress in trying to get money for my transportation, textbooks and materials. I can comfortably pay for virtually everything required of me in school. Although initially, combining both steemit and my academics was worrysome and hectic to the extent of affecting my result but I still had to look for way to keep the balance. I adjusted my life to fit into it. Because of the numerous benefits I have been getting from steemit, I decided to even introduce my friends @chiguy and @michealbrown. Through steemit, I made new friends in my department, and also in other departments. My senior colleagues and I became very good friends, we got to connect more and this has really helped my academic life. My exam scores and results improved drastically from average to above average. My lecturers started liking me and this made me closer to them.

Community Participation

The @steemit-enugu community is a community that has touched my life immensely. I always felt at home anytime we were together knowing fully well I was covered. I met great leaders, the likes of @xpressng. @ejemai, @samstickkz, @eurogee, @nairadaddy, @ewuoso, the list is endless. They were sources of inspiration and motivation to me. Heaven will not forgive me if I fail to mention the likes of @pasaift, @endowedqueen, @henrychidiebere, @gifty-e, @charlescarter, @spark, @vintageverge, etc. They were the new friends I made during the Enugu steemit meet-up. I'm also planning to attend another meet-up which is the steemit-ibadan meet-up coming up on 24th of this month. The steemit community is growing and I can wholeheartedly say that soon enough, steemit will become global.
IMG_20180209_161220.jpg at the Enugu steemit meet-up
IMG_20180209_164402.jpg @ Enugu steemit meet-up

Steemit has thought me so many things. Through their various community development programs, visiting the poor and needy, visiting prisons and the less privileges (especially during this last Valentine celebration), steemit has broadened my understanding of being a giver. In every meetings and meet-ups, giving back to the community is been always over-emphaaized.

For the giver never lacketh

Steemit has really changed my life for good. As a student, I live very comfortably. My business is booming well, I don't have to call my parents again for monthly allowances. At least, this has relieved them the headache of catering for me in school making them channel their expenses to my other siblings. I will soon introduce my siblings too.
I believe I'm not the only one steemit has changed their lives, I know many people like me too whom God has blessed through this platform called steemit. Steemit has also helped raised the standard of living of many Nigerian youths. Thank You Steemit.

IMG_20170325_105714_110.jpg me after joining steemit

Special thanks once again to my mentor here on steemit @gee1. She has been a source of inspiration to me and everyone else she introduced into the steemit community, always making sure we are on track.
I will also like to thank the likes of @samson12 and @the.chiomz my classmates.

Don't forget to share your own success story by joining this contest organized by @dobartim. You can never know how your story can encourage a newbie steemian.

Thanks to @aidasfg7, @flysky and @dobartim for supporting this contest.

https://steemit.com/steemitultimatechallenge/@dobartim/steemit-ultimate-challenge-8-weeks-prize-fund-2000-sbd-week-4-registration-is-in-progress

Sort:  

Transformation!! More Life ahead!

Amen... Thanks bro

This post has received a 0.20 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @banjo.

Beautiful story....Life hasn't been really fair with you...
Thank God for steemit

Yeah, steemit has really made a change

It was really a hectic life. Well done brother

Life itself is a story with different chapters.
A story we hope to get better as we unfold new chapters.

Thanking God for the Steemit blockchain and for the positive turnaround.
He alone deserves to be praised.

Yes oo. Thanks much Hon.

Wow! Nice post. Keep your dreams alive and be focused. Nothing can stop you @brightex

Yea, thanks

All the struggles are part of the process and recently I have learnt to enjoy the process. Greater things await you young doctor. Cheers

Amen oo, thanks much. I appreciate

Wow lovely speech am glad can see myself here

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by brightex from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48