Steemit Talent Contest Week #12 - Original Song - Dragonfly by @darrenclaxton

in #steemittalentcontest6 years ago (edited)

Hello and welcome to my very first Steemit Talent Contest!
I'm a singer songwriter from the UK and write all of my own original material.
My new EP is out now to download with Steem or SBD if you like what I do.


So, here's my original song Dragonfly for this week #12 contest.
It's a summery kind of tune, which will hopefully bring us all some much needed warm weather and sunshine here in the the UK.
I love to hear new music too, and look forward to hearing the other artists and talented people here. I'm excited to be a part of this great new talent contest this week.



Lyrics -

Standing by the wishing well thinking
oh the summer soon passes me by
songs in the trees from the blackbirds calling, calling
river streams and the dragonfly

Walk with me a while cos I'm talking talking talking
about the sunshine that warms your face
how you been lately I've been wondering
did your soul get knocked out of place
did you find that loving face

Find me there, I'm slowly crawling
back to bed, cos I'm tired for
a helping hand to lead me
down that lonely road again

Standing by the wishing well thinking
oh the summer soon passes me by
songs in the trees from the blackbirds calling, calling
river streams and the dragonfly

Thanks for watching.
Darren

Sort:  

Fab performance Darren! Saw it popped up on my YT feed this morning :) All the best at the comp!

Good one Darren! We are rooting for you!

Man, that is so mellow and relaxing. How is the winner chosen?

Hey there! Yes the contest is run similar to Open Mic by @luzcypher but its not as big yet! It is also open to other talents not just singing or playing an instrument. At the moment I currently get a different group of friends together to judge and vote on the contest to select the winner. As the contest grows just like with Open Mic I hope to have outside judge in different countries selecting their top pics weekly.

The biggest difference is the quarterly semi-finals. Every 12 weeks the winners from the previous 12 weeks battle it out for the semi-final spot. At the end of the year one of the 4 semi-finalists will win the title of Steemit Talent Contest Champion for that year..... hopefully this contest will be around for many years to come. Wishing on sponsorship and hopefully some delegated steem so my upvotes on entries mean more.

Wow sorry for rambling on. Enjoy the contest! Love this entry personally however ultimately im not the one who makes the decision solo 😉

Hey @donnaincancun thanks for the information about the Steemit Talent Contest. I like the concept and how you've designed the whole thing. It's nice to see more people like yourself supporting the talent here on Steemit.
Many thanks for visiting my blog and for commenting.
Cheers
Darren 🎶 🎸 🎤

Thanks man! I'm not entirely sure yet.
Think it's similar to Open Mic.

Oh man such a nice song as always! Good luck with the contest man!

Cheers mate! I thought I'd try some different contests!

yeah! win them all! :D

So good lyrics. Hope you win man :)

Thanks ever so much for watching and listening!
Really appreciate it!

Gorgeous song, everything I’ve heard from you so far has captivated my listening.. I love how this invokes the feelings of Summer & you have such a sweet tone in your voice. Can’t wait to hear more. :)

Hey @marysemciver
Thanks so much for following my musical journey here on Steemit!
I really appreciate everyone's feedback, comments and support!
Darren

That was really cool! I enjoyed watching you perform that!

Thanks for popping in for a listen Amber!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 62058.88
ETH 3419.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48