Steemit Talent Contest Week 8 - Lost In the Supermarket - (cover of a song by The Clash)

in #steemittalentcontest6 years ago (edited)

Greetings fellow Steemites and Talent Contesters! For the month of March, I've decided to try something a little different. Rather than focusing on songwriting and multi-instrumental production (backing vocals, second and lead guitars, drums, synths, etc.), I'll be focusing on performance. To this end, I will not be adding additional instruments or vocals to my performances this month (except where there are call-and-response vocals, as in this song). Also, again in the interest of focusing on performance, I'll be posting cover songs for the rest of the month.

Today's entry is a cover of The Clash's "Lost In the Supermarket" :) There are some guitar mistakes here and there, but overall the performance has the kind of raw feeling I was looking for. Hope you like it!

Lost in the Supermarket

I'm all lost in the supermarket
I can no longer shop happily
I came in here for the special offer
Guaranteed personality
I wasn't born so much as I fell out
Nobody seemed to notice me
We had a hedge back home in the suburbs
Over which I never could see
I heard the people who lived on the ceiling
Scream and fight most scarily
Hearing that noise was my first ever feeling
That's how it's been all around me
I'm all lost in the supermarket
I can no longer shop happily
I came in here for that special offer
Guaranteed personality
I'm all tuned in, I see your programs
I save coupons from packets of tea
I've got my giant hit discotheque album
I empty a bottle and I feel a bit free

The kids in the halls and the pipes in the walls
Make me noises for company
Long distance callers make long distance calls
And the silence makes me lonely

I'm all lost in the supermarket
I can no longer shop happily
I came in here for that special offer
A guaranteed personality
And it's not here
It disappeared
I'm all lost the supermarket
I can no longer shop happily
I came in here for the special offer
Guaranteed personality
I'm all lost
I'm all lost
I'm all lost

Songwriters: Joe Strummer / Mick Jones / Paul Simonon / Topper Headon
Lost in the Supermarket lyrics © Universal Music Publishing Group

Hoping you all are having a beautiful week and wishing you peace, prosperity, and Steem :)

©2018 Bennett Italia

Please check out @donnaincancun's amazing weekly Steemit Talent Contest! All kinds of talent welcome :) View entries and post one of your own at: https://steemit.com/steemittalentcontest/@donnaincancun/steemit-talent-contest-week-8-entries-now-open-hosted-by-donnaincancun-and-sponsored-by-luzcypher A heartfelt thanks to Donna for hosting this awesome contest! You rock 🖤

Sort:  

Great musicality, Bennett:)

Thanks Pryde! Glad you enjoyed it :D

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Lol this is probably my favorite song of that phenomenal album, London Calling!!**

"Long distance callers make long distance ca-halls... and the silence makes me lonely..." <3

:D no doubt. Such an incredible record!

You got a 1.74% upvote from @buildawhale courtesy of @bennettitalia!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 60327.71
ETH 2568.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57