You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Birds fly free in school

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

I loved this poem. I read the poem first and then read your notes. I love your description -
The clown in front carries a load of manure
Big enough to fertilize Iowa.

Also
Classroom walls are a trash compactor.

From Elementary, to Middle School, to High Schools and even Universities in the US are even guilty of this...
To me it brings to mind that some children/students who are ready to fly around and learn, are made to sit down and relearn the same things over and over again! For gifted students, school can be too easy(my son)...leading to boredom and waiting for the bell to ring to end class! For other students, why do you have to take Government and US History in high school and again in college? For my daughter that was a stumbling block... she had learned it in high school, why study the same stuff again if you want to major in English...therefore she dropped out of college.
Teachers/Schools shouldn't hold students back...

You sound like an amazing teacher and I applaud what you are doing to help the overly prepared child for the Korean schools and the ones putting their heads down on their desks!

Perfect choice for the bible verse to go with this post!

And lastly, as for the birds - well I love to see birds flying around outside, photograph them and hear their birds calls, but I say you need to set the birds free from your school, otherwise people like me will be screaming if one flies close to my head!

Sort:  

Thank you for your kind words. I'm never sure if I should put the poem on the top or the bottom. I only began writing poems after reading some poems on Steemit. Thank you for a sincere, lovely and humorous comment. Your son and daughter are in my prayers @violetmed.

I totally agree with you:

Children/students who are ready to fly around and learn, are made to sit down and relearn the same things over and over again!

I would like to say schools will change by 2020 but they has to change inside. There is so much money invested in the system that keeps it going. Huge companies from publishers, milk, software, engineers and consultants compete for contracts so it is difficult for administrators to keep clean.

I suffered a lot in school and I want students in my class to fly. I have the chance to give new opportunities to my own two boys. I asked them why they go to school and they both answered, "to meet with friends." Then the worst situation would be a student with no friends.

Two days ago American kids demonstrated for school safety legislation. Of course providing a safe environment to learn is the most important responsibility of education. But it brings up a root problem. I wonder if it is not the same problem in prisons. A little hope and love will go a long way to reform. I envy home school parents but my kids and my wife don't want that. It's three against one. The best we can do is read and talk together.

And the birds... I will see if we can fix the hole. They never come out when school is crowded. They only come out after most of the kids go home. And yes there may be a student like you so I will see if I can do anything about it on Monday:)

Thanks for reading the poem. I am encouraged to keep going.

Heart moved,

@mineopoly

@mineopoly, my son finished high school and graduated from college (finally was challenged in a few classes). He is a life long learner so far - still reads and is still learning! My daughter found her own niche - she went to a school and became a hair stylist, which she loves; most of the time! She still could have been a writer, journalist or English teacher possibly, if college had been different. Anyway, I would still appreciate your prayers over them. I'm sure your 2 children will do great, since you are their father! It's so great that you began writing poems, that's exciting!

Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57979.07
ETH 3124.67
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36