100 Day Poetry Challenge Day 71 "The Sunken Place"

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

splace.jpg

I accepted this challenge from @d-pend to improve my writing skills in general. The original post is here.

Imma prove to y'all ignorance is taking over
We use baking soda to cook narcotics
Not for refrigerator odor
The dumbest criminals help pigs meet their quota

And our young women resemble hoes after makeovers
Fake hair, fake eyes, fake noses, fake ass and chest
But nobody seems to take notice
They're trying to be barbie dolls because y'all "don't want no mediocre" type (Google it)

We forgot about those who sacrificed their life
Martyrs, murdered so we could have purpose
We went from Nat Turner to Bobby Shmurda
From great dancers to a club of drunk twerkers
From freedom writers to satires with our verses

We used to be artists with originality
But we let them turn us into coons with guns
We traded our self respect for a salary
It's sad to see what we become

In the afterlife, we won't be able to look our ancestors in the face
Until we raise ourselves up
Out of The Sunken Place

well (1).jpg

Join the Steemit School Here

If and only If you like my music/content, upvote and follow me so that I can bring even more of my multimedia content to Steemit.

If you need any music, graphics, video editing, etc. Hit me up on Discord-- ty2nicerva

SIG.png

Sort:  

Hmmmm i love the way you used your moods to establish a voice here I can however feel the angst, from my understanding, it seemed as if people have forgotten their original ambitions and purposes as a result of something I'm uncertain of, the names you mentioned are an allusion, and i love thw rap ingredient to this as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60632.49
ETH 2366.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56