Unconquered - 100 Days of Poetry Challenge Day #27

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

I very nearly forgot to wrote today's poem. Mid-semester exams are up and man's not hot! Thankfully, I remembered before the deadline. Lucky me! I wrote this hurriedly. I wanted to be able to write it and then clear myself of the thought of it to be able to write another poem at six GMT today. Please do take time to read and if you like what you read, don't forget to upvote. Keep Doing You.


pexels-photo-207153.jpg

Image Source - Pexels

From out of the pits of despair
Dark as the night and unyielding as fate,
There’s a soft scratching, a mild tapping
It’s the sound of my soul, straining
Against its bonds

In the happenstance that trapped me
I refused to make a sound.
Fate and chance, they bully me
My body is battered, yet unbroken
My heart is heavy, yet it doesn’t break

Beyond this place of hopelessness
Beyond the uncertainty of tomorrow
Nothing exists but the fear of the unknown
What is next, I do not know
There exists only one surety

I shall not yield,
I will not fall
I’m dragged under but I will not sink:
I am not a servant of despair
And I am not a slave to fate

My destiny is mine to decide.

abstract-6.jpg

Image Source - Artist


Join Steem Schools here.

Sort:  

Very encouraging poem of not giving up the fight and taking control of your own destiny. I’ve been through some trauma recently but I’m finfing myself in this exact spot right now.

Love the metaphor of a soft scratching, mild tapping soul straining against it’s bonds.

Thank you. I'm glad you relate and are in a much better place.

Good! Many good images. I like it:

there is a soft scratching, a slight tapping
It is the sound of my soul, striving
Against your bonuses

Wow, almost forgot, then came out with an epiphany. Nice work.

I have felt this before. The feeling that you're not sure what's going to happen, but you know that you're going to overcome. Great poem.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70118.25
ETH 3744.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84