FIST OF THE OPPRESSORS (DAY 53)

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

hand-1832921__480.jpg

They say a man that swallows a full coconut
Must have confidence in his anus
Is that why our dreams are swallowed by society?
Because our fathers bear no names?
Our mothers' smiles are quenched by the drought hand of poverty?
And our voices can't be heard even from the mountaintop?

They say words and dreams travel faster than arrows
Is that why the tie our mouths, hopes and aspirations?
Is that why they lock us up in dungeons of disguised democracy?
Is that why they made sure father never came back from the war?
Because of futures were too bright?

They say the roofs of an orphan never collapses?
Okay that's why they make sure I still live in a thatched muddy compartment
So my prowess can be nullified by the beating rain
And the scorching sun dry out my vision?

They say no man's an island
But why is my soul deserted?
Why are my questions answered?
Why are my dreams still blurry?
Why are clothes still dirty?
Why are my words powerless?
Why is life so dim?

images (71).jpg

This poem is an entry to 100days poetry challenge. All images are obtained here

Sort:  

This poem is like an arrow, it hits really deep. So much emotions. A definite great read!

Congratulations @sammynathaniels! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Maybe I'm some kind of sick beast but depressive is also beautiful for me. It hits you deep and those are the things I like to keep.

I may be wrong but did you mean - questions unanswered?


Overall - your poem provoked my thoughts!

Peace, love and gratitude!

You are partly correct!
Those words are shelters for dreams that were oppressed, hopes that were quenched and questions too, that were unanswered

"They" can try, but they can't stop you. This is deep. It is obvious English is a second language, but this is great. I respect when people from other countries speak English so well. Because Americans expect every one to speak English, but we rarely speak other languages ourselves. lol These are questions that you already know the answer to, but it provokes thought. People don't understand the plight of others when it is so obvious. #respect brother!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73