You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: "100 day Poetry Challenge [Day 88]" - Poetry: Life is For All

This piece is an inspirational one. And like you, I have often asked some of these questions. As a writer of prose, I was particularly struck by the narrative style of this piece. The beat and the flow go well together and I was engrossed in it all.

That said, there are some shortcomings in this piece I think needs to be addressed. I usually say that the writer knows best and hence I offer my comments with a great degree of diffidence.

Fighting life's battle with all nothingness.

I often say that the whole idea of nothing is logically meaningless. Nothingness is the word that jumps out at me in this piece. I tried to grasp the image you were trying to convey but I was at a loss as to what to make of this line. If you see the need to explain it I would be quite appreciative.

Another bit that stands out to me is:

Across to the less privileged

I think omitting across would have worked well for the piece here. It sounds a bit redundant. In my humble opinion, you should think about revising it. That single word takes away from an otherwise powerful and succinct line.

As the kids' lives get snatched in their face

…is another line that threw me off. I honestly do not know what to make of it. I would say that the literary devise you employed here falls short of that which you are trying to convey. It would be interesting to hear what you have to say about it.

Left to rambled like a channel that lost signal

Putting has after that would give the poem a better flow

How more better could life be

Substitute much for more in the above line

Overall, I would humbly advise you to look into these things to see if they can be revised to improve this piece.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for the helpful feedback. All you highlighted has been fixed... This kind of critique makes me improve the more...

I appreciate your kind words too. Thanks Mate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67002.47
ETH 3459.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65