You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Birds fly free in school

From one teacher to another, I enjoyed reading your post! In the Middle East we had several birds fly into the classroom ... what a contrast to how our students often feel. Looking forward to reading some of your past posts about Korea. My husband and I wanted to be ESL teachers there but ended up in Malaysia. We loved visiting though and hope to return with our twins!

Sort:  

Malaysia sounds great @helenoftroy. I teach in the public schools and have been here a long time. I don't know what it is like anywhere else. I have kind of become Korean. It's really hard with kids. Are they boys or girls? My two boys are getting wild right now. I have to take them outside. They like the mountains.

Big welcome

@mineopoly

Twin girls (just 10 months old though). Not too rowdy yet :)

Have you been back to the US to visit?

We were teaching in a private school in the Middle East for two years, then went to Thailand to get my TEFL. We've been here in Malaysia for 2 years now. After living overseas for so long (though not as long as you) it’s hard to fit in when we go back. I use phrases we picked up from other cultures and find I have to catch up on current trends and lingo. Since you feel like you’ve become Korean, is the transition hard for you too?

I'm still in Korea and I think we will be here a long time. I have only been to the states for a few weeks at a time here and there. Things changed a lot. Kids will put a lot of stress in the picture. I wish they could stay 10 months forever. That is the best time... but they grow up and get sick. Malaysia has good hospitals and you will be fine there. Korea has seasons and a balance of old and new, nature and metropolis. I am comfortable here except for occasional air pollution. I find myself bowing more than I should even when i am visiting the states.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60629.29
ETH 2636.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51