Day 4 of Steemit School Poetry: TRUE COLOURS

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

Hi Friends,
Happy Mothers day to every single one mother in the Steemit community. And yes, happy birthday to Terry Ajayi, popularly known as @surpassinggoogle. You have every bit of a mother's heart. Enjoy today to the fullest, because your mother is smiling down at you from wherever she is.

So, here's the poem I have written to honor my beautiful mom. She is, undeniably, my fort and my crowning glory. So , this is for you.


images (14).jpg
Fine Art America

True Colours

White Petals grow after a slimy sneeze.
The rarest of gems sprout from the mire.
Oranges and indigos need the dark to bloom
Harmonies come from the mingling of heartbroken chords.

You took the form of the ordinary.
You were wet with slime.
Clouded in hurt from the defeat of the past;
You mingled with the night,
So that the light in your heart,
Dimmed by a byte.

images (13).jpg
Fine Art America

But you shone, nonetheless.
You cast off the drab colors, the dew
that shrouded your naked colours.
New and true.

But you didn't pour out your new colourful dyes
On yourself. You didn't don on your coat of many colours. You spread it out for us to sleep on. You gave up your every fabric of joy to keep the cold away.
And now, I wear your colours,
I boast with the happiness you've garbed me with.

And need I say, the world all over tells me
they are beautiful. MÓ, they tell me;
Your true colours are beautiful.


So, this is what I can manage to construe on such short notice. But my mom means more to me. She is my greatest theme- I derive inspiration from her struggles, her growing pain, yet her unflinching resolve to stay happy and laugh hard. I want to tell the world about her some day; of a woman, who despite being given all the wrong things in life still expends everything in giving her children the right kind of life. She has become my words, always woven in some way into the characters of my short stories, and poems. She is the one I strew all over white sheets every time I set my hands on paper...

Ok, I had better give it a break here. But Mò, I just want to wish you a happy mother's day.

So friends, a lot of study and poetry discussions will go down on the Steemit School Discord Channel. Why not join now?

. Upvote. Resteem. Comment. Thanks.

Sort:  

Beautiful poem. Your mother, my mother, and a lot other mothers around the world deserve to be celebrated for the selfless, giving people that they are.

So I joined you today to celebrate your mom, my mom, and every mom around the world. You all rock!

Upvoted

Happy Mother's Day to everyone woman out there

Great poem and beautiful play with words. Certainly our mum deserve our love.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69118.60
ETH 3805.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71