Partial (100 Days of Poetry Challenge - Day One)

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

turkey-3048299_640.jpg



They said the other side
only grew green grasses
I asked if it was an incited cause
on the part of the Sun
Did it shine the better rays on one side
leaving the other to catch what it may?

meadow-2184989_640.jpg


To that I got no answer
So I assumed that was what it definitely was
The partial sun.

So I set to talk to it
Give it a piece of my mind
But when I realized with derision
the distance and its intensity
I had to reach a compromise
I grabbed my bag
Intent to take a tour.

To my family, I told
I won't be long
But what a lie that was
I had to reach the other side
To ba le nawon
Darapo mo won.



Side note

*Green grasses references “The grass is greener on the other side” a popular saying, most often used to refer to better living or opportunities anywhere but home.

The bolded is a language of the three major tribes in Nigeria (Yoruba), and it simply means if you can’t beat them, join them.


Photo credits: Pixabay(free images)

Click to join

Sort:  

Hi @debbietiyan thanks for the submission for day one. This poem was a really enjoyable read & thanks for the note at the end explaining the Yoruba saying. You followed all the guidelines, thank you! For now I am placing you in the Beginner category :-)

Thank you :)

Alrighty.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63605.39
ETH 3470.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52