(Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge: Day 79) SURVIVOR

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

black-white-artwork-by-russian-photographer-victoria-ivanova-5.jpg

 

Dear All,

This poem is my 79th submission.

Thank you.

 

filigree.png

 

SURVIVOR

by Ikhwanul Halim

 

black-white-artwork-by-russian-photographer-victoria-ivanova-61.jpg


something deep and deadly inside me
staring at me expressionless
days an endless experiment of joy and despair
nights spun with dreams

lain too long on the floor, a day or more
intentionally sedated by the ICU medical team
if that’s worse than the legacy of fire
kill me

dozing off, slipping into a coma
as deep and peaceful as the ocean
a whistle on the track and the angels
take off

I could’ve flown and been there in hours
the ache behind this vertiginous caffeine crash
never stays long, and never talks to
any one

tea’s earthy aroma awakened all senses
the screws had bored into the body
pays the bill at the ATM and saves the rest of
the money

people I love with all my guts
and sacrifice so much for
bring some kind of order to my besieged
mental state

I’m changing and growing
when that time comes
see just how strong you’ve
become


black-white-artwork-by-russian-photographer-victoria-ivanova-58.jpg

 

Bandung, May 25, 2018

 

This is my 79th submission for 100 Day Poetry Challenge conceived by Daniel Pendergraft @d-pend. I am in Category I.

If you want to participate, please do not hesitate to join Steemit School discord.

Big thank @d-pend for giving me this chance to participate in this event.

 

Photographs Ⓒ Victoria Ivanova

Sort:  

tulisan yang bermanfaat

Teurimong gaseh, @bigbos99

Well, you have become stronger than you think. You have grown, you have improved. You are not the same as yesterday or the same as tomorrow, you are already aware of your own growth and that is profit, dear @ayahkasih. Good poem!

Every day is a new beginning, @zeleiracordero amiga

Muchas gracias

Keren banget ayah. Always like your poem.very deep.

Jadi maluuuuu...hi hi hi

Lah knapa malu ayah. Ayah kan emang keren hehe

There is an inner strength that comes with growth I think. Nice poem.

I love the theme.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66