(Steemit School Poetry 100 Day Challenge: Day 76) OUT OF THE BLUES

rain-piano-gif.gif

 

Dear All,

This poem is my 76th submission.

Thank you.

 

filigree.png

 

OUT OF THE BLUES

by Ikhwanul Halim

 

804392.gif


      

the rain starts slowly
     bleeding and blending
          into the ground
     the ceiling, the walls leak
          they squeak
     as if trying to speak
          how long do you think
               before everything
                 collapses?
syrup-voiced terms of endearment
     replaced the cool greetings
          drop my last shirt
     in the bathroom sink
the sub-woofer pulse
     permeated the building
          a black hole, sucking all the air
            from my lungs
soak our hands
     in a jar of rose water
          and some exotic herbs
            from nameless rain forests
tomorrow you and I’ll
     go for a stroll in a park
          bursting with sunshine
               and birdsong
          a belated birthday present
     out of the blue


52161ae30fed1c11811460cfbde7b109.gif

 

Bandung, May 22, 2018

 

This is my 76th submission for 100 Day Poetry Challenge conceived by Daniel Pendergraft @d-pend. I am in Category I.

If you want to participate, please do not hesitate to join Steemit School discord.

Big thank @d-pend for giving me this chance to participate in this event.

 

Images sources: 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

This is a beautiful piece, I love the imagery it has a lot of texture to it . Sight, sound but also smell with the rose water and herbs. It is a a slow humid summer night of a piece, beautifully crafted with just the right amount of sadness on the side to give it some flavour, but there is also hope as from the usually cold relationship tenderness creeps in and a promise that it will stay to last in the tomorrow.

Thank you for the beautiful comment, @tygertyger

Karya yang sangat luar biasa bagus Pak @ayahkasih.
Salam kenal dan santun dari saya

Terima kasih mas @aa31. Salam kenal kembali

Great imagery my friend and great poem in its wholeness. I like it because it reminded me of an small apartment I used to live.

the ceiling, the walls leak
they squeak
as if trying to speak
how long do you think
before everything
collapses?

This part here is like you were my roommate xD Anyway, thanks for reminding me where I was, now I cherish more where I am now...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64063.60
ETH 2742.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67