School Poetry 100 Day Challenge: Day 98) LAST-MINUTE TICKET

13769403.jpg

 

Dear All,

This is my 98th submission.

Day after tomorrow will be Eid al-Fitr holiday. Likes Thanks Giving in United States, people in my country returns home to gather with their families, known as 'mudik' tradition (nation-wide google doodle's today).

Some of my friends still struggle to get last-minute tickets.

This poem is dedicated to them.

Thank you.

 

filigree.png

 

LAST-MINUTE TICKET

by Ikhwanul Halim

 

KOTB_2014_Concert_2.jpg


slows down, one final groan
the emptiness of your still-growing brain
the recognition that you are eternally an outsider
a tool of an ego’s satisfaction
the desire to give up is fierce
keep them all inside
no matter how cold
riding a roller coaster without a harness
the intricate mechanisms
eroded in storm
become one with debris
the pressure disappears
feeling of futility
never be won


1506438849195.jpg

 

Banda Aceh, June 13, 2018

 

This is my 98th submission for 100 Day Poetry Challenge conceived by Daniel Pendergraft @d-pend. I am in Category I.

If you want to participate, please do not hesitate to join Steemit School discord.

Big thank @d-pend for giving me this chance to participate in this event.

 

Happy Eid al-Fitr, all my poets brothers and sisters. Peace be upon us.


download.png

Selamat mudik 2018 ( by google doodle)


Images sources: 1, 2, 3

Sort:  

Excellent "last minute" poetry. It is admirable how it builds a whole world with few words. I love this!
A hug, @ayahkasih!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61