100 DAYS OF POETRY: DAY 10

in #steemitschoolpoetry6 years ago (edited)

800px-EECummingsGrave.jpg
commons.m.wikimedia.org

to ee
By Stephen Martin

deep dive
the calendar quakes
      colander

salient
salient again

boo-hoo
boo-hoo          who

spirit specks sprinkle spring(s)
fortune at noon
a pop            and then      pop
a choo-choo     train     heading into
a tunnel at nite
nitrogen      needed     for us
nitrous oxide
needed
4
them

we whisper at each other on ham

Note:
Today I decided to write a tribute poem to one of my favorite poets, EE Cummings. I love the total freedom that his poetry emits. I also like his style and sometimes use it as a tool for my own poems. Thank you EE.

Buffalo Bill's by EE Cummings
TheDialJan1920-Cummingspoem.jpg
commons.m.wikimedia.org

Learn more about EE Cummings here:
https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/e-e-cummings

I am a student of and ambassador for #steemitschool

Learn about our mission Here
Join us on Discord Here

@dbartim thank you for creating #steemitschool. @d-pend thank you for the initial invite to join this challenge. Thank you to everyone else in our community. We can manifest dreams together.

Sort:  

Congratulations for being selected as the Day 10 Winner in the Advanced category along our 100 days of poetry challenge!

Between the wordplay, alliteration, interesting breaks in your formatting, and delightfully surprising ending "we whisper at each other on ham" this one was briskly enjoyable and refreshingly creative. Thanks @acousticsteveo!

Thanks Daniel. I had fun with this one. 😎

Classic goodness and you did him right! Well done.

Thank you. 😎

Great stream of consciousness. I know there is a lot more going on. Word choice and enjambment was on par. Nice work:)

Thank you I really appreciate your comments. I love what he does with enjambment and sometimes I try to do my own thing, but it's usually quite inspired by him.

He is an inspiration to lot of poets. He did quite change things.

EE Cummings. I guess there aren't so many poets I know, I should look out more.

spirit specks sprinkle spring(s)

This alliteration stood out, much like a painted thumb. I literally had to read it out to my hearing, and it sounded twice as nice . The speees (sp), I liked :)

Hoping to read more from you.

Thank you for your thoughtful comment. EE Cummings is an awesome poet I would highly suggest reading him. It's great to meet all the new poets out there. Do you have a favorite poet?

Really inspiring, @acousticsteveo.

I really, really really need to learn a lot.

Thanks you.

Thank you. 😎

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I really enjoyed reading this and would love to write poetry of this form...Could you spare some time to teach it to me on discord?

Definitely. If you see me on there then DM me and we can open up a voice chat and I can talk to you about it. In the meantime Google some EE Cummings and just read it. You'll be blown away.

That would be lovely.. I'm definitely looking forward to the voicechat... In the meantime though, I'll take your advice and read some EE Cummings...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.034
BTC 64029.44
ETH 2756.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65