Blood-beads: (day 9 of 100 -- Poetry Challenge)

in #steemitschoolofpoetry7 years ago (edited)

roses.JPG

Screen Shot 2018-03-15 at 10.45.32 PM.png

I’ve got a strand of blood rosebuds.
A monk in a monastery of Dream,
“Holy! Holy!” I cry.
I’m a fire-rod,
a golden chalice,
a double-edged sword,
a token taken to the streets,
a flaming bush.
These beads are soaked in the blood
of sacrifice and they smell of mineral-iron,
life-force steeped buds, dried and strung,
tied knots…

Screen Shot 2018-03-15 at 10.45.20 PM.png

By the knot of
1 the spell has begun.
By the knot of
2 it cometh true.
By the knot of
3 so it be.

Screen Shot 2018-03-15 at 10.45.13 PM.png

They say you crawl before you walk.
I ran first, so my mother said.
There's a scar where I hit the ground,
a tear of a memory my dead mamo
saves in a shallow grave.
Where’s everybody going so fast(?)
I was the one out the door first,
now I walk slowly,
my center-line of blood-buds strung,
a spine of beads and prayers sung.

Screen Shot 2018-03-15 at 10.44.57 PM.png

I pause in stillness.

Screen Shot 2018-03-15 at 10.49.27 PM.png

I.
I sit in the garden and watch the people on their go-rounds, looking the same, doing the same things, always in a hurry, still, I sit like a rosebush, I ponder; buds push forth from my thorn’d stems, petals spring and my prayers manifest pungently sweet upon the breeze.

II.
I saw a man like death, skeletal remains in his everything designed garb, shined shoes, and spit-down hair — he was bone and blood-shot eyes, rattling round an invisible dream, chain-link tethered attachments, soulless remnants of a life lived in search of baubles and adulations, the safe life of worn thin pavement, crowded full, sardine-tin-times, the chatter of puking-guts-out and self-importance: A ghastly apparition!

III.
I linger upon each bead, how it came to be bound and knotted in place, how the patina builds as I cogitate, considering its position to the others, like a spine of discs oddly shaped and dark. Each once a promise of possibilities, of unfurling brilliance, and of the beauty of creation, fertile and alluring — each a dehydrated reminder, cut, desiccated, consecrated, blood-fed-Dreams, “O Holy! Holy! the perennial phantoms I’ve seen!”

Screen Shot 2018-03-15 at 10.52.29 PM.png

Under a cloister a sacred sweetbrier Dreams a dream of a Dream as a Monk takes to the blood-beads of a mommy bush.

Screen Shot 2018-03-15 at 10.52.38 PM.png


  • All pieces are newly crafted and posted shortly after in adherence to the rules of the challenge. All the photos are mine unless otherwise stated.

  • The top photo is a detail shot of a large oil on board (my work).

  • Entry for Day 9 of 100 Days of Poetry Challenge by @d-pend.

  • Join the Steemit School here: https://discord.gg/yZvYjfM organized by @dobartim on Discord.

Sort:  
Loading...

"By the knot of
1 the spell has begun.
By the knot of
2 it cometh true.
By the knot of
3 so it be."

A fantastic write, mamadini. The photographic illustrations were spot on too.

YAY.. thank you. :)

Wow... this is powerful! Is the ending still part of the whole piece! It's a wonderful procession, either way.

Really learning a lot from the poetry I read here each day... Thanks for being part of that!

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

Thank you. :)

Yes, the ending is the resolution. I did not want to linger there, I just wanted to leave an image like a puntuation mark.

I really appreciate your stopping by, so few do and I take it to heart, the time spent reading, replying and participating. <3

Beautiful piece my friend 👍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65