Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #32 ~ Turkey Pickled Egg Rye Sandwich

Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #32 ~ Turkey Pickled Egg Rye Sandwich
This is my entry for the #steemitsandwichcontest week #32 by @jaybird.

A Big Thanks to @jaybird, the judges and all the sponsors.

I really enjoyed last weeks "no wheat" theme and thought it really sparked some creative listings. I liked them all. I hope we have more "theme weeks" more often. I believe it keeps our creativity at an optimum and really gets those creative juices flowing. LOL!

This week I created a turkey pickled egg rye sandwich. If I have a chance I may create another entry for this week.

IMG_4060.jpg

My main ingredients in this sandwich are pumpernickel rye bread, turkey, pickled red beet eggs and pimento cheese.

IMG_3997.jpg
IMG_3993.jpg

I started with one of my favorite breads, pumpernickel rye. It is such a deep rich tasting bread. My husband makes peanut butter and jelly sandwiches with this bread and he says it almost tastes like chocolate.

IMG_3986.jpg

I spread on a good layer of the pimento cheese on the bottom and a nice spread of mayonnaise on the top. I wanted to keep the sandwich moist and creamy.

IMG_4001.jpg

A layer of some butter leaf lettuce.

IMG_4007.jpg

Some sliced tomatoes with a touch of black pepper.

IMG_4010.jpg

Thinly sliced red onions.

IMG_4014.jpg

The deli turkey.

IMG_4016.jpg

Sliced pickled eggs. I thought where I wanted to put the pickled eggs and decided somewhere in the middle would be good so I would I have creaminess on the bottom, middle and top. I also debated on putting the beets in the sandwich but decided to serve on the side.

I live in Central Pennsylvania Amish Dutch country and grew up with pickled red beet eggs. It is a must to always have a jar of pickled eggs in the refrigerator. Mustard pickled eggs are also good.

IMG_4023.jpg

And finally some sliced dill pickles. I love the taste of eggs, rye and dill together.

IMG_4034.jpg

And there it is. It turned out fantastic if I say so myself. My husband requested two of them. All the flavors came together and the sandwich had good texture. I could taste all of the individual ingredients but they blended well together.

IMG_4069.jpg
IMG_4078.jpg
IMG_4060.jpg

INGREDIENTS:
Deli Turkey
Pumpernickel rye bread
Pimento cheese
Mayonaisse
Butter leaf lettuce
Tomatoes
Black pepper
Red onions
Pickled red beet eggs
Dill Pickles

Follow TESS COOKS4U on Social Media:

STEEMIT ~ YOUTUBE ~ FACEBOOK

WEBSITE ~ TESS COOKS4U AMAZON STORE

TESS COOKS4U PATREON

EMAIL: [email protected]

All images, videos and content are my original work.
Taken with Canon PS SX670 HS.
Please ask before borrowing. Thank you, Tess.

Please UPVOTE and FOLLOW me. Thank you and have a wonderful day.

Much Love, Tess :)

Sort:  

Beautiful and yummy sandwich!

Your entry for @jaybird #steemitsandwichcontest looks great. I love nearly all your dishes but this sandwich has my mouth watering right now.

Thanks @obeyempresz

never in my life have I seen purple eggs, but the bread makes up for it. I wish I could get different types of flour. I bet this tasted amazing!

Thanks @intrepidsurfer Yea! It was really good.

Wow... That will be so delicious @tesscooks4u

Thanks @braveit It was delicious!

wow.... send that over my wayyyy its dinner time.

Seems like it’s absolutely bursting with flavor! The rye bread looks to just make it all!

Thanks @snrm It was good!

Holy Crap Tess! This is Epiiiiiiiiiiic!

Pickled Beet Eggs! Pimento Cheese, where do you get these ideas lol. I've just recently rekindled a love for pickled eggs. I definitely got to get my hands on some of these beet ones tho!

I really believe that you likely nailed the flavour and texture combos. I'm liking what I'm seeing in both of those departments. And of course the colours of this creation are really something!

Well done!

LOL! We love sandwiches and I enjoy making them. They are a convenient food.
Pickled red beet eggs are easy to make. If you are interested, here is my youtube video for making them:


Thanks so much @jaybird

Sweet video! These are bomb I tell you!

Okay... I've got to make a point of doing this. Looks like something I can handle haha! Minus the hard part... Will fight the urge to devour!

If all goes well... I might move onto the Mustard eggs!

LOL! Glad you enjoyed and they are good! I know you like eggs and you will like these. I also have a video on pickled wieners. Have a good evening @jaybird.

Oh.. and i believe you are absolutely right about everyone stepping it up during the themed weeks. This one was probably the most impressive all around contest week in SSC history. Practically everyone went above and beyond there normal to produce some absolutely stunning entries!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99