Steemit Sandwich Contest Week 42: Vegan Polish Zapiekanka

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

This is the vegan variant of the base of Polands most famous dish, the zapiekanka.

14FCE4AB-16FF-496F-9235-22813A557FFA.jpeg

In Cracow you get the best ones in the jewish district Kazimierz at plac Nowy, dozens of mini bars strung together in a circular rotunda where you can choose from different toppings like chives, ananas, corn, pickled cucumbers and various sauces like ketchup, piri piri, cocktail sauce or mayonnaise.

The newest creation I saw there was a maki toping, which reminds my to cover my next ones with some avocado-cucumber makis.

Only the sky is the limit, you can use onions with garlic instead of the mushrooms as base and fold in halved cocktail tomatoes and marinated tofu into the sauce and cover with some fresh basil after backing.

Serves 4

77222609-1681-40B3-9966-6DB6D784AC3C.jpeg

  • 500 g button mushrooms
  • 6 T olive oil
  • 500 ml soy milk
  • 1 T potato starch
  • 3 leaves of leek
  • 4 french rolls
  • Salt and pepper

Cure the button mushrooms and cut into quarters. Sear in a big pan in 2 T olive oil till they get a nice brown color.

D2FD074D-0A61-4F89-BB32-FABA70A0A4CB.jpeg

Only now salt them, as they immediately will give off their juices.

A510F342-A3D5-4C84-9CE6-565EEE699A80.jpeg

Dissolve the starch in some soy milk, then stir in into the mushrooms with the remainder.

1B73B92A-8E41-4061-974F-FA3B4D4DC028.jpeg

Stir till you get a nice thick sauce. Remove from the stove.

5AA5C090-D02D-4AAC-BCAB-33260980E01F.jpeg

Chop the leek into fine slices and fold into the sauce. Season with salt and pepper.

2C38143B-E8C4-43C2-966F-DC1F5C326FBF.jpeg

Cut the rolls in half and brush the cut surface with the olive oil. Lay down with this side in a hot pan and roast for one or two minutes.

Spread the french rolls in a backing dish and cover with the mushroom sauce.

Grate in the oven for 10 minutes at 170°C/340°F.

Serve fresh from the oven.

2372C04B-557F-4C9F-A334-496350C3247B.jpeg

My grateful thanks go to @jaybird for hosting this contest with its diverse community.

B375123D-48C1-4BF4-9F85-63AC7C8F4FFF.jpeg

@sukhasanasister: before your son runs havoc, I gave you an option you can use instead of the mushrooms :)

Bon appétit,
Miron

Sort:  

want you to make me one, when you are back :-)

This sounds and looks delicious @street.yoga, anything with mushrooms wins me over!

Beautiful, I love the mushrooms, the sauce looks so delicious! Well done!

Miron, this is the best kind of comfort food. I love polish cuisine. The best are pierogi of course 😊 I visited Cracow a few years ago and I was surprised by wide variety of vegan options. Thank you for the recipe! 😊

Yes there are quite some vegan/vegetarian restaurants now. I was in one remarkable one last time, Veganic, will try to stop by there as I am here now. Pierogi are on my list too, there is this one restaurant offering over 40 variations I like to visit :)

Thank you for the tip! I'll go there when I'm in Cracow again. It's not that far from my home town in Slovakia so I might visit even this summer while on vacation. Let me know how you liked that other restaurant so that I have some review before I go there myself :)

You're welcome, still didn't got a chance to visit that pierogi place, too much going on :)

No worries, I'm patiently waiting :)

Thanks for this recipe! I like to try new flavors from around the world and you literally made my mouth water!

That is always my intention, let the saliva wet the floor :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-26T13:28:45
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 64.50/100.00
Total Photos: 9
Total comments: 6
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Looks crazy! You sure love your shrooms :)

Yes I do :) It is one of my top ingredients together with tomatoes and garlic.

Thanks for this recipe! I like to try new flavors from around the world and you literally made my mouth water!

This sandwich is so mushroomy good. Wow I really could go for this now. I love how you cooked them in that sauce. Yum!

You love your mushrooms too, don't you 😉

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66228.07
ETH 3559.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.01