Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 8 (Spinach Theme Sandwich – 2nd Entry): Fried Spinach Burger Sandwich

in #steemitsandwichcontest7 years ago (edited)

I love fried food, really, who does not?! Sometimes, life is all about moderation and balance. As long as it makes you happy, it is A-okay to have something less healthy once in awhile.

You see, life is also full of contradiction - just yesterday, I made the healthiest Spinach Open Face Sandwich for breakfast. Yet, today, I craved fried food (Maybe because I am under the weather). It’s like you are at a cross-road, contemplating which direction to take, even though deep down you know which is the better way. But …

Okay, I am getting all philosophical again … Back to fried food! So, my favorite home-made fried food happens to include Spinach. From time to time, I would make this fried spinach patties as appetizers or snack, and I tend to make them in a smaller size. To celebrate all things delicious and to make myself feel better from the cold, I am turning this crunchy spinach mini patties into a burger size goodness.

IMG_20170926_195235.jpg

This dish is very versatile, you could add pretty much anything to your heart desires. I had incorporated the following in the past: potatoes, tofu, rice - you name it! I have this huge craving for cheese and so I decided to pair them with the spinach.

As mentioned earlier, it’s all about balance. The guilty side of me convinced myself to add more vegetable so that I am not as guilty (^_-). In the end, I also added some artichoke.

This sandwich is very easy to make and here are the steps:

  • Combine the following ingredients: chopped spinach (organic preferred), chopped artichoke, shredded mozzarella cheese, grated parmesan cheese, mayo, green onion and minced garlic
  • Form the patties (P.S. - don’t worry if it’s a little loose. Ultimately, the cheese and the dipping flour would hold them together. You could potentially add flour and eggs to the mixture but I want to cut down on both to watch my husband’s cholesterol level)
  • Dip patties first in the flour, then egg and finally panko breadcrumb
  • Fry them in hot oil until golden brown
  • Assemble the burger sandwich (I used mustard as the base, topped with tomatoes, arugula, the crunchy and cheesy spinach patty, more tomatoes and mustard)

IMG_20170926_185124.jpg

IMG_20170926_190927.jpg

IMG_20170926_194654.jpg

IMG_20170926_191458.jpg

IMG_20170930_130130_909.jpg

The outcome is this yummy and fully satisfying spinach burger sandwich. In my mind, this patty is a very good replacement for meat patty, especially on days you don’t feel like meat but would still want a burger.

This sandwich is relatively easy to make, you would be delighted and would want to keep making them again and again!

Sort:  

@steemit-foodie So much information thanks for sharing.

Thanks @ca-life - I tried to share as much as possible so that anyone interested could follow the recipe.

holy cow, this looks great. i don't know anymore. all your sandwiches are looking fantastic these days.

OMG - you always know what to say to make me happy!

OMG these look amazing, you've got me craving fried food now! But they're veggie so it's ok isn't it? ;)

Haha - thats what I told myself too @lolzwithlisa

Hi Foodie, I've been trying to reach you on discord. Please let me know. Fantastic post BTW.

Hi @rt395 - I will check my discord now. Thanks for your message!

This post was resteemed by @steemitrobot!
Good Luck!

Want to Know More! Check out introduction post on how to use steemitrobot

The @steemitrobot users are a small but growing community.
Check out the other resteemed posts in steemitrobot's feed.
Some of them are truly great. Please upvote this comment for helping me grow.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58919.17
ETH 2647.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43