Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 8 (Spinach Theme Sandwich – 1st Entry): Gluten Free Spinach Open Face Sandwich

in #steemitsandwichcontest7 years ago (edited)

The other day, a Steemit blogger ( @voder ) commented on one of my posts to share that his brother-in-law had a cholesterol level that kept him out of a job. He decided to make a spinach and pineapple smoothie with almond milk for breakfast every morning. In six weeks he cleared their test.

After reading his comment, I am amazed with how our diet could do wonder to our health! It is for this reason, I did not hesitate to pick spinach as the main ingredient for all my sandwiches this week. And, for my first sandwich entry, I wanted to make an open face breakfast sandwich using spinach.

IMG_20170929_131456.jpg

There is no doubt that the best way to start our day is to have a nutritious and yummy breakfast. It helps to set the right tone for the rest of the day. Further, it gives you the energy required to tackle the day too.

This sandwich is also gluten free and therefore suitable to those who have special dietary need. I actually used spinach and egg to create the ‘bread’ for this sandwich. I have done something similar before with other ingredient but I found that spinach is even better as it gives such a vibrant and intense green colour, which definitely enhances the look of the sandwich.

IMG_20170929_131829.jpg

One tip to share is that prepare the spreads, chopped vegetable or even the ‘bread’ ahead of time so that you do not have to rush in the morning. Here is how I made this Gluten Free Spinach Open Face Sandwich:

Step 1 – The spreads

I wanted to have some tasty spreads to slather on top of the sandwich. Therefore, I started by making two different types of spread – The Black Bean Hummus and The ‘Italian’ Hummus (An Italian family taught me how to make it, hence, the naming convention).

For the Italian Hummus, I blended chickpea with chicken stock, garlic, parmesan, lemon juice, salt and pepper.

For the Black Bean Hummus, I started with black bean in the blender, then added olive oil, tahini paste, water, cumin, paprika, salt and pepper.

IMG_20170929_111520.jpg

IMG_20170924_141223.jpg

Step 2 - The ‘bread’

Add fresh spinach (please use organic if possible) and egg into the blender. At the end, you would yield a green mixture (check out the intense green colour). Pour the mixture on top of oiled parchment paper and baked in the oven. It would turn into a taco-liked ‘bread’

IMG_20170924_143351.jpg

IMG_20170924_143820.jpg

IMG_20170929_123237.jpg

IMG_20170929_130642.jpg

Step 3 – Assemble the open face sandwich

I layered tons of home-made spreads on top of the spinach ‘bread’, added some fresh tomato and more chopped spinach. I finished it off with crispy eggs and seasoned with salt.

IMG_20170929_130542.jpg

IMG_20170929_131232.jpg

IMG_20170929_131327.jpg

IMG_20170929_131745.jpg

Really, how hard is it to eat healthy?! Let’s start taking good care of ourselves and please give this open face sandwich a try.

Life is about moderation and if we could eat clean for just one day a week, I think we would benefit from it tremendously.

What do you think?

P.S. Just to show you how versatile this spinach egg taco bread is! You could use it to make a wrap too (see photo below)

IMG_20170924_152027.jpg

Sort:  

Wow!! The article looks neat and I myself am very diet conscious, I love sandwiches. If you can give me a sandwich which fits the diet well then I would to have it all day long... great post buddy...keep it going :)

Fantastic @voiceshares and thanks so much for the support. You probably noticed that I am really interested in both mental and physical health. I think eating well could potentially help us to achieve good mental health too, to a certain degree. Perhaps, in the future, we could collaborate on a campaign to assist others to achieve good overall health!

this one is outstanding. the best of all your sandwich entries thus far. thank you for getting us to eat healthy

Thanks so much @smartbean - You are a die-hard fan and I am so grateful you always take the time to read and appreciate my posts. Means a lot to us and kept me going!

@steemit-foodie Steemit is gonna change lots of lifes, it has changed mine and many others but that is just the beginning. Followed

Well said @jerryhuge - I couldn't agree more!

Oiled parchment paper? That's new to me. Is it like rice paper for spring rolls?

Thanks for the shout out! Wish it was for something clever I had done. :)

Haha - you can't eat the parchment paper. It just make sit easier to remove the baked taco in the end.
No - you had shared great information and ultimately would help others who might also struggle with health issues. Thanks for sharing!

That is so brilliant. I am very grateful for that! Love it.

Thanks @nakamurasatoshi - much appreciated

UPVOTED! I love it! From one foodie to another, bravo! I have to try this. I had no idea spinach and egg can create a better alternative to bread.

Thanks a million @rina.tours.world - the possibilities of food is endless.

Great sandwich! I'm going to have to try to make that spinach bread/wrap/tortilla! I bet all sorts of seasonings could be added to it- maybe even seaweed!

Absolutely @jaymorebeet - one tip is to use oiled parchment paper to bake in the oven. I had try without as well as pan-fry but the result was not great).

Ah ya! This is fantastic! Loving the spinach theme too!

I kind of want to try that Spinach pineapple Almond milk smoothy too!

Sounds tasty!

Me too. I have everything at home, except pineapple. Perhaps some time this weekend, I will give it a try!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58734.46
ETH 2636.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43