Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 6 - Curry Theme Sandwich (2nd entry): The ‘Sneaky’ Curry Pakora SandwichsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitsandwichcontest7 years ago (edited)

Pakora is Indian fried snack and I had tried it at restaurants with tamarind chutney. Let’s be honest, many of us love fried food, although it might not be the healthiest. However, we are only human and once in awhile it is A-Okay to have fried food. Of course, moderation is the key.

Here at home, we have got some gluten free bread. Unfortunately, ‘someone’ doesn’t like the taste of the bread and I understand. They definitely taste 'funny'. However, if you know me by now, you would know that I hate to waste food. So, I thought to myself, could I do something with the bread that would hide the taste and turn it into something delicious? Well, you got it … I ended up making Curry Pakora Sandwich.

IMG_20170912_204648.jpg

I know, I know, I am quite sneaky (shhhh). You see, as a home cook, you have to be sneaky sometimes. Many moms out there would hide vegetables in foods for kids. I ended up hiding gluten free bread with curry flavoured batter and then deep fried. As such, I decided to name this sandwich The 'Sneaky' Curry Pakora Sandwich.

Oh boy, I really went all the way out to prepare this sandwich and this is going to be a long post. But I had a lot of fun in the process.

First, I prepared a home-made red pepper and tomato chutney as dipping sauce. Then, I made a vegetable mashed potato as the filling. Finally, I proceeded to assemble the sandwich and turned into Pakora sandwich. Let me lay out all the steps below:

Step 1 - Make the home-made Red Pepper and Tomato Chutney using chopped red bell peppers, tomatoes, red onion, white wine vinegar, honey, cayenne pepper, salt and pepper. Add all ingredients to a pot and bring to a boil. Reduce to a simmer and cook until thick and syrupy (about 2 hours)

IMG_20170911_192005.jpg

IMG_20170912_203921.jpg

Step 2 - Prepare the Veggie Mashed Potato using potatoes, carrot, green and yellow zucchini and peas. Steam potatoes and carrot. Fry green and yellow zucchini and peas. Mash all ingredients, season with salt, pepper and garlic powder and mashed by adding milk (since Pakora is deep fry, I didn’t add any oil or butter to keep it healthy). Note, I am also extra sneaky by hiding veggies in the mashed potato.

IMG_20170914_194743.jpg

Step 3 - Assemble and fry Pakora sandwich using potato flour, water, curry powder, turmeric, and the infamous gluten free bread. Mix potato flour with water, curry powder, turmeric, salt and pepper to form a batter. Slather veggie mashed potato on bread. Form a sandwich. Dip the sandwich into the batter and fry in hot oil. You would see this glorious yellow colour as a result of the curry and turmeric.

IMG_20170912_200853.jpg

IMG_20170912_202251.jpg

IMG_20170912_203353.jpg

IMG_20170912_204841.jpg

IMG_20170912_204910.jpg

IMG_20170912_205011.jpg

Step 4 - Serve the Pakora with the home-made chutney. Tune into Netflix and watch a few of your favourite shows - Priceless!

Hope you enjoyed this post and happy for me that I was able to get rid of the infamous gluten free bread at home. In addition, I now have a fresh batch of chutney that I get to enjoy for the new couple of week (they go so well with goat cheese on crackers or on top of melted brie, yum).

The Pakora was a hit and ‘someone’ finished them all, but no one at home knows that they were made out of that funny tasting bread. Hehe, I’m getting such a kick out of it!

Sort:  

Man. Im on a diet... and now I am hungry

Haha - Sorry man, it was not my intention. But no more fried food for me for awhile!

Your sandwich looks tempting! Adding turmeric in your batter gives nice color to the sandwich. Good luck my friend! I know you will win because you are the queen of Steemit Sandwich Competition :-D

Haha - they are very tempting. No more fried food for awhile. I made a lot and it was a hit. I really like this sandwich community, many fun people on here.

This gem of a post has been discovered by the Operation Curation Delegation (OCD) team!

Reply to this comment if you accept, and are willing to let us share your gem of a post! By accepting this, you have a chance to receive extra rewards and one of your photos in this article may be used on our compilation post!

You can follow @ocd – learn more about the project and see other Gems! We strive for transparency.

Thanks so much @mrslauren - Yes, please feel free to share my post. Much appreciated for your comment!

Thanks so much @mrslauren for the mention on OCD and it feels great to see many people enjoyed my post and love my sandwiches. It was much appreciated!

your so welcome! You have such high quality posts and it makes me happy to see this one get the payout it deserves! :)

Bread Pakora? That's bloody brilliant, I've had deep fried toast, and pakora, but that combo? So cool, great job. I love that your sandwich took hours to cook and fed your family whilst mine took 1 minute and only fed me. Great entry.

Haha - Thanks @bleedpoet - All these hours of work only because I was a desperate housewife who desperately wanted to get rid of that loaf of gluten free bread (which tastes weird, have you tried any gluten free bread before?)
I hate to waste food, and I was pleased that they are now gone!

Oh wow. What a creation!

Loving this home-made Red Pepper and Tomato Chutney. Sounds like the perfect dip for pakoras

This is a very inventive entry Sfoodie !

Yes - I actually made two snacks out of the chutney on goat cheese and brie. I am cheese overloaded today, lol.

U make me hungry.

That's the best sandwich I've ever seen @steemit-foodie

Awww - Thank you so much @futurethinker - I'm only a home cook but always trying something new and to making sure my family eats healthy. Please follow Steemit Sandwich Contest if you like sandwiches, we have a lot of talented contestants and it is also a funny community!

Wow - this looks like it would make even the ickiest gluten free bread taste amazing! My stomach's grumbling now, haha.

Hahaha thanks @therovingreader - Indeed the tasty ingredients definitely hide the ickiest bread. More importantly, my husband who is allergic to wheat could enjoy that without any issues. I was indeed very happy. Cooking something good for my family is my priority. If you like sandwiches, please follow the Steemit Sandwich Contest hosted by @jaybird - We have lots of talented contestants and it's fun to be part of the community!

Sounds like an excellent priority. :) All the sandwiches I make are super simple, so that competition may be the perfect place for inspiration.

Yes, please do support all the participants at the sandwich contest too... We have many talented folks, making good sandwiches each day who are very passionate about it. It's like creating art (that's how I feel every time, I'm trying to come up with one). Cheers!

incredible sandwich i would love to eat one of those!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52