Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 5 - Beet Theme Sandwich (3rd entry): The Ultimate Beet Burger SandwichsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitsandwichcontest7 years ago (edited)

I have been wanting to make a vegan burger for awhile. Having tried a vegan burger at Toronto’s Planta, I am convinced that vegan burger could taste as good as the real ones (BTW, in the near future, I will post about Planta, so stay tuned).

As mentioned, I am using beet as the theme for ALL my sandwiches this week. So, it’s perfect timing to make a vegan burger using beet.

IMG_20170908_185903.jpg

When I was coming up with the ingredients for this sandwich, I basically looked at what I have in the kitchen. One of my goals is to be good to the environment, therefore, I will never waste food! Never ever!

I had some leftover rice from the other night’s Japanese Curry + Katsu dinner Link. In addition, I had leftover black beans from the Super Bowl I made yesterday Link. Therefore, I decided that I would use them as the base of my burger in addition to beet.

I also had apple, carrot and spinach sitting around. Right away, I thought I could make a slaw and incorporate them with my vegan further. So, that was how I came up with the ingredients.

Burger Ingredients:

  • Chopped roasted beets
  • Cooked Japanese rice
  • Black beans
  • Salt, Pepper, Seasoning (such as garlic powder, cumin, etc)

Slaw ingredients:

  • Shredded apple and carrot
  • Lemon juice, Honey, Olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper

Methods:

  • Mix some shredded apple and carrot and add dressing
  • Chop the roasted beets into pieces using a food processor. Add black beans, rice and seasonings. Form patties
  • Fry patties in a pan, 3 minutes per side
  • Add sautéed spinach on the base of the burger, layer with patty, add apple carrot mixture

IMG_20170908_183418.jpg

IMG_20170908_183958.jpg

IMG_20170908_185638.jpg

The outcome was this glorious vegan burger sandwich that tastes absolutely fantastic and the look is not bad at all. Please don't get intimated with the pink colour burger, it's only beets, which is good for you. Wish I could make one for all of you to try.

Sort:  

like this one a lot. also like the other two from you this week. it is quite hard to pick which one i like best.

Oh, this one is interesting... I didn't expect you to make a patty out of the beets and veggies.

Turned out good eh?

It definitely Looks good!

I've often shied away from veggie burgers or Portobello mushroom bc I personally don't find them to be as enjoyable as a beef or lamb burger..

The amount of vegetarian entries that have really dawn my attention these past few weeks is astounding. They are very appealing & such is the case with this one!

Congratulations @steemit-foodie! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60078.84
ETH 3197.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45