Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #28 (Theme - Turn your Dip into Sandwiches): 2nd Entry - Roasted Tomato & Hummus Tartine

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

Have you heard of Tartine Bakery in San Fransico? On my last trip to San Fransico, I purposely picked my airbnb in the Mission District, just so I could play a visit to this famous bakery.

A New York Times food columnist (and I forgot his name, oops) once wrote that this is his favourite bakery in the whole USA.

I remember having a tomato hummus tartine at this bakery and it was heavenly. For a moment, I almost wanted to move there just for the bakery, and of course for the warm weather too.

Hummus is one of my favourite dips and it is made of chickpeas which is super healthy. In my opinion, hummus does not only make for a perfect dip, but also a delicious sandwich spread.

I have experimented different pairings, but still, this version is the one I like the most. Perhaps, because this is a copy cat of Tartine Bakery's.

IMG_20180218_130257.jpg

IMG_20180218_130347.jpg

Here are the ingredients:

  • chickpeas, lemon, tahini paste, garlic, cumin, olive oil, salt, pepper, tomato, basil, bread

Here are the steps:

  • make the dip by adding chickpeas, lemon, tahini paste, garlic, cumin, olive oil, salt, pepper in a food processor or blender
  • marinade tomato slices in olive oil, basil, salt and pepper and then roast in oven
  • spread the dip on the bread, top with roasted tomato slices and sprinkle pink seas salt and green basil on top

GIFMaker.org_uBn4ye.gif

You can make this tartine in a snap and yet it’s super healthy. Heathy eating at its best. Here is me, finishing up the leftover dip with some baked olive oil infused pita bread. And, sorry, my baby bump is showing again!

IMG_20180218_124604.jpg

Sort:  

Friend, I have not had the pleasure of trying it but just to see your photos I already feel that desire to love a little, I admire your food you are a cheff at home, greetings friend I hope your pregnancy goes very well.

Mmm, another good one! Of the bat when you mentioned dips in sandwiches, hummus was my first thought.

Yeah - It's so good as sandwich spread.

Btw, I have been ordered to stay home tonight and not take baby out and about. So, I will miss the very first Toronto Meet Up.

Please post some pics from tonight and have fun with the music performance, I'm sure everyone will love it.

simple but yet elegant

Hmm we don't eat bread very often but would mind a slice of this lovely toast! Love hummus!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75