Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #26 (Theme: 4 Ingredients or Less) - 1st Entry Open Face Sunflower Sandwich

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

This week, I decided to take on a challenge to use only 4 ingredients or less to make all my sandwiches.

We are so lucky to have abundance of food here in Canada. There are so many places in this world that don’t get to enjoy what we have.

Growing up, we read news about the famine in Ethiopia and one of my primary school projects was to raise awareness of that as well as to encourage fellow students not to waste food. My project was selected to represent the school and enter some sort of competition. WoW, that was like 30 years ago, lol.

At the same time, cooking does not need to be too complicated, there are times that ‘less is more’. As such, I decided to challenge myself this week by setting a goal to make sandwiches that contain 4 ingredients or less.

It was a fun experiment. Also, since I am going to be a mom soon, I wanted to try making food that would be fun for children. Here is how I came up with my first sandwich of the week - Open Face Sunflower Sandwich.

IMG_20180203_162932.jpg

As you will see the ingredients are straight-forward;

  • puff pastry, egg, hot dog

The steps are also self-explanatory:

  • make multiple cutes on the hot dog so that it can be easily formed into a circle
  • place hot dog in circle on top of a round puff pastry
  • pour an egg york in the middle
  • bake at 375 for 18 minutes

IMG_20180203_153737.jpg

IMG_20180203_154043.jpg

I feel like very arty today, so I dressed up this Open Face Sunflower Sandwich to make it looks like a flower with stem.

I cannot wait to cook for my little boy and to expose him early on the art of cooking and the art of making art, and ultimately respect and understand food!

IMG_20180203_162921.jpg

Sort:  

this one i love a lot, man, you are simply amazing

This is SO cool.

Thanks - It was fun to make!

Very nice, food should be fun! :-)

Completely agree!

This is the cutest sandwich I have ever seen <3

Haha - Felt like a kid again making school art!

Beautiful @steemit-foodie, my favourite sunflower :):)

Awww - me too, I adore sunflower !

Wow...Literally food art!

This is awesome & I really like your self challenge this week. 4 ingredients or less!

You're one creative gal SF!

Hello, you will make a wonderful mother and that more your experience in the kitchen will lead you to create dishes that are beautiful, I congratulate you, greetings from venezuela!

wow .. it looks beautiful makes me want to make my own in the future for my beautiful baby niece.. Every kids would love that same as me as an adult.. :)

Thanks for sharing your recipe, Nice Pictures, Congratulations!

OMG !!! You need to have a statue built for your cooking skills !!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58478.70
ETH 3158.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43