Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 22 (Theme: Vegan Sandwich) - 2nd Entry: Make Taco Not War Sandwich (Colourful Sweet Potato & Red Cabbage Taco with Avocado Cream)

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

Have you ever seen the slogan 'Make Taco Not War'?
Make Taco Not War.jpg
(Source: Getty Image)

This short but striking memorable phrase stuck in my head ever since the first time I saw it. In fact, I reference it a lot, whenever I see coverage of war on TV. I hate war but I love taco.

In Toronto, there are many great taco places such as Seven Lives at the trendy Kensington Market. But, I always wanted to make them at home.

Given this week's SSC theme - Vegan - I thought a vegan taco would be a great idea! This is how I came up with this Colourful Sweet Potato & Red Cabbage Taco with Avocado Cream as my 2nd entry.

IMG_20180107_152501_1.jpg

IMG_20180107_152116.jpg

I really really love colours and one reason why I love to eat vegetables since I was a little kid was due to the variety of colours that vegetables have to offer. I have a tendency to draw to dishes that are colourful and I supposed I am one of those who eat with my eyes, lol.

However, my husband is the opposite, the dish has to taste god damn good to him, does not matter whether the dish is creative or colourful or presentable. As a result, when I cook, I always pay close attention to taste and whether the ingredients go well with each others.

I am happy to report that my Colourful Sweet Potato & Red Cabbage Taco with Avocado Cream got the approval of my husband in terms of taste and flavours - And that puts a smile on my face!

And, I too hope you would like it!

First, let's cover the ingredients used:

For the sweet potato fillings - Sweet potatoes, black beans, home made taco seasoning (chili peppers, paprika, cayenne salt, garlic power, onion powder, ground cumin, coriander)

For the cabbage fillings - purple cabbage, salt and pepper

For the avocado cream - avocados, lemon, jalapeño, garlic, parsley, sea salt and pepper

Here are the instructions:

  • Season cubed sweet potato with the taco seasoning and mix with oil. Bake at 425 for 25 minutes. After that, add black beans and bake for another 10 minutes
  • Saute purple cabbage with salt and pepper
  • Make the avocado cream by combining all of the ingredients in a blender until smooth
  • Warm vegan tortillas in a skillet and then layer with avocado cream, cabbage slaw, cooked sweet potatoes and beans
  • Serve warm and enjoy!

IMG_20180107_131654.jpg
IMG_20180107_133749.jpg
IMG_20180107_135000.jpg
IMG_20180107_142358.jpg

The smoky, slightly sweet flavor of the roasted taco sweet potatoes paired with sweet cabbage and avocado cream makes for one seriously swoon-worthy taco. It honestly makes me so happy that I can create a vegan meal this good!

IMG_20180107_152408.jpg

Sort:  

this is awesome i don't think i can get this from seven lives

Hey you - Thanks for always so supportive!!

Hmm sweet potato and black bean tacos.... now I am hungry! Good luck! It's def a winner for me!

Awww - Thanks so much @amy-goodrich for your comment, especially coming from someone who is a master in making vegan food!

vegan steemit tacos - nice!

Oh my god... haha wow the colours on this one are really awesome! I'm betting your other half did not complain as the pres makes this look delicious!

Really diggin this one!

Thanks and yes, my man didn't complain about the presentation, lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65432.88
ETH 3423.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30