Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 22 (Theme: Vegan Sandwich) - 1st Entry: Giant Vegan Samosa with Avocado Dip

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

When I think of vegan, for some strange reasons, samosa came to my mind right away. Why?! Perhaps, this is because I love Indian food and I had eaten so many Indian samosas in my lifetime that are vegan!!

Wanna know a secret, I used to be called the “Samosa Lady” at work - I was the United Way fundraising rep and I earned this nickname by hosting one of the fundraising events to sell samosa.

Samosa is a fried or baked dish with a savoury filling, such as curried or spiced potatoes, onions, peas, lentils and etc. While its size and ingredients vary, typically it is in triangular shape. Also, it is often accompanied by a chutney.

This week’s theme - Vegan Sandwich - inspired me to make my own version of Samosa Style Sandwich Wrap. And, you cannot have Samosa without a dip. So, I made my favourite Avocado dip to go with it. Also, I am hungry all the time these days, so I wanted to make a giant one to fill me up.

IMG_20180106_151939.jpg

IMG_20180106_152039.jpg

IMG_20180106_152552.jpg

When it comes to ingredients selection, I was mindful to include protein and ingredient that has that 'meaty' flavour. So, this is why I picked quinoa and mushroom as the main fillings. Of course, there is the vegan cheese I picked up from the supermarket.

I have never tried vegan cheese and this Daiya 'Mozzarella Style Shredded Cheese' is made from tapioca and arrowroot flours, plant oil, pea protein, natural flavours and salt. This vegan cheese is designed to melt, bubble and stretch like regular mozzarella cheese.

The ingredients for my Samosa Wrap:

  • Vegan Tortilla Wrap, Lemon, Herb, Quinoa, Mushroom, Fried Onion, Vegan Cheese (sorry if I offended anyone, but I wanted a cheesy Samosa so vegan cheese is the only option!), Vegan Flour, Water and Olive Oil

The ingredients for my Dip:

  • Avocado, Tomato, Parsley, Garlic, Lemon Juice, Salt and Pepper

IMG_20180106_132739.jpg

The instructions:

  • Prepare lemon herb quinoa salad
  • Fry mushroom and onion
  • Layer cooked quinoa, mushroom, Vegan Cheese on top of Tortilla
  • Cut a piece of tortilla in triangular shape, brush it with flour and water paste, place on top of fillings
  • Wrap the tortilla to form a triangular shape samosa, using the paste to glue the samosa together
  • Brush Samosa with olive oil and bake in the oven
  • Prepare the avocado dip by mixing all the ingredients

Here is a GIF slideshow to show you the steps:

GIFMaker.org_QvSpBp.gif

My experiment confirms that vegan food is not all that complicated. It just basically means no animal products like eggs, butter, meat, cow milk, and etc. You maybe surprised that many of us might have already been eating vegan food all the time and don’t even realize it.

So, give vegan a chance and appreciate it.

And, that’s a wrap!

Best,
The “Samosa Lady”

Sort:  

Amazing post! thanks for the recipe and i especially liked the GIF animation!

Thanks! My other half also added hot sauce on top and he said it was delicious.

oooh hot sauce...spicy samosa, delicious!

Hell yeaahhhhh!

hahaha samosa lady this is an awesome entry

ow. Looking delicious. I love Sandwich. Gorgeous food photography!! Thanks for sharing such a good post @steemit-foodie

Thanks @oliviajasmine - I Samosa!

Ah right on! This looks impressive to say the least. Especially the avo dip, that's a nice touch!

Keep em coming Samosa Lady ? lol

Very nice they look amazing! Great folding they are neat :-)

Ooh I love samosas! I remember trying to make a healthy version and decided to bake them instead of frying- it sooo did not work as they fell out of shape but I love your idea of not doing either of those! Very innovative :-)

Thanks @foodflaneur - Me 'two'. Love Samosas to the moon and back!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65432.88
ETH 3423.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.30