Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #22 (Theme: Vegan) - 3rd Entry: Vegan Pinto Bean Empanada Party Snack

in #steemitsandwichcontest6 years ago (edited)

Back in the days, I remember hearing people who were vegan would say that they have to bring their own food to a party just to make sure they are covered.

Luckily, time has changed, many hosts nowadays are so well informed and educated about vegan. It is common now to find vegan food at parties so that both vegan or non-vegan could enjoy.

It is for this reason, I am inspired to make a vegan party snack - Vegan Pinto Bean Empanadas - as my 3rd entry of this week SSC.

IMG_20180108_200356.jpg

IMG_20180108_200434.jpg

I had tried many versions of empanadas in my life - from Filipino style to Indonesian style, from Spanish style to Chilean style. Basically, empanada is a stuffed bread or pastry baked or fried. I would like to think that my version is a fusion and quickie version, lol.

Here are the ingredients: Green Pepper, Red Peppers, Pinto Beans, Onion, Vegan Tortillas, Flour, Water, Almond, Basil, Olive Oil

IMG_20180108_185750.jpg

Hare are the steps:

  • Cook peppers, onion and pinto beans until they look like mashed and season properly
  • Add Basil, Almond and Olive Oil in blender and mix well. Season properly
  • Roll up the tortilla to form a cone and seal with flour & water mixture
  • Brush with Olive Oil and bake in oven
  • Dress it up with wooden stick and brush with basil almond spread

IMG_20180108_191757.jpg

IMG_20180108_192108.jpg

IMG_20180108_192549.jpg

IMG_20180108_200411.jpg

This concludes my week long experiments with Vegan Sandwiches and I have to say that I had a blast! Also, can you believe this is my 70th sandwiches so far?!

Sort:  

love it! Shishkebab-esque!

LOL

Holy, has it been 70 already? These look delicious and I could easily sneak some ground beef in the recipe 😄

I know, I cannot wait to reach 100, lol. Totally, sneak in anything your hear desires!

An excellent party snack minus the farts lol.

Looks delicious! That basil almond spread sounds amazing..

Haha LOL

soooo coool!!

I love empanadas- really need to learn how to make them so I wil defo give your recipe a go!

Thank you girl @foodflaneur - By the way, SSC has such a fantastic week welcoming new participants like you! It was so fun.

looks great!

Looks very delicious, Thank you for sharing this. Upvoted

Check my blog for latest posts and updats,@kingjan

Thanks!

interesting posts I like your posts. because your post can be an insight for me and users steemit .. post interesting .. thanks for you.

Thanks - much appreciated.

I cant take my eyes off your recipes, really. and this one it blows my mind! where did you saw this? cause you're very creative! nice shoots and very original!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61409.80
ETH 3358.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49