Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 2 - The Eggplant Sandwich (5th Entry)steemCreated with Sketch.

On my first trip to New York City decades ago, I tried this epic eggplant sandwich in the Italian district. It was so delicious that I could not get it out of my head. When I returned to Toronto, I went ‘nut’ searching for it at local Italian restaurants. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any luck and so I decided to give it a try and make it at home. Ever since then, it has become my favourite recipe.

IMG_20170820_174718.jpg

I love eggplants and we consume a lot of them back home in Asia. Our eggplants though are a lot smaller and skinnier. When I came to live in Canada, I was so shocked that the eggplants here are all so huge. But then everything in North America seems a lot bigger than where I came from, the houses, the burgers, the clothing’s and etc. Of course, I don’t have a problem with that because I love food, lol.

For this recipe, I used one eggplant. First, you slice the eggplant and keep the slices in the order you cut them, this is because you want to match up two pieces that are similar in size. Then you layer cheese and hot salami in the middle of the two slices. After that, carefully dust them with flour, soak in egg and then breadcrumb. Put them on an oiled baking sheet. Baked them in the oven at 450 for 25 minutes. You do have to turn them once half way through.

IMG_20170820_162436.jpg

IMG_20170820_174423.jpg

IMG_20170820_185701.jpg

The result is these glorious eggplant sandwiches. The thing is they don’t look as pretty or colourful, but they are jam-packed with flavours. There is something about baked eggplant … it just tastes so darn good! Really, pictures do not do justice.

Don’t get me wrong, I love all my sandwich creations, but if I were stranded on a desert island and could only take one of my sandwiches, I would have to pick this epic eggplant sandwich, LOL.

So, if you were in that situation, what sandwich would you take to the desert island? If you do have a sandwich you like that much, that means you will have to join in the Steemit Sandwich Contest to share the love, you feel me?

Sort:  

Really great idea to switch out the bread with some vegetables @steemit-foodie. Eggplants work perfectly for that. :)

By far - my favourite sandwich @alinalisa - Saw some of your recent hiking / travelling photos. Europe is so beautiful, especially Vienna. Hope to visit some day!!

Yeah, i hope you get the chance to do that too @steemit-foodie. :)

Ooh I love the combo of breaded eggplant cheese (mozz) and meat! yummm!

Shudang!

you just keep stepping it up don't you...?

Very distinctive entry. Eggplants are indeed tasty and it's very interesting that you were able to essentially make that the "bread."

Eggplant meat and cheese. can you ask for anything more? maybe a brio to wash it down lol

My desert island sandwich would be the 'chip butty' from the fish shop on St. Enoch's square in Glasgow. Just a bun stuffed full of perfectly fried chips, with a coat of salt and vinegar, served in paper. 80¢

Holy smoke, just looked it up on google, had no idea what 'chip butty' was @bleedpoet ... Thank you for enlightening me... Will we see a 'chip butty' entry from you in week # 3 of the contest?

Oh @bleedpoet may like this article '11 reasons why 'Chip Butty' deserves your love and respect' -

http://www.foodnetwork.co.uk/article/11-reasons-why-chip-butty-deserves-your-love-and-respect.html

I've never been able to find another in the world to compare.

lol lovin this convo guys !

I read the article, the pictures sandwich is not a chip roll, it's a westernized abomination of said sandwich... First it's on white bread instead of a roll and second it has ketchup😁. Some people like butter on theirs but I prefer a dry roll.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67321.51
ETH 3513.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83