Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 2 - Saucy Basil Beef Patty SandwichsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitsandwichcontest7 years ago (edited)

The other day, my husband told me McDonald’s was offering 67 cents burger to celebrate 50 years in Canada. Knowing he loves fast food burgers, I got worry… worry that he might indulge in ‘unhealthy cheap’ eats. To my relief, he did not go for it. So, I promised that I would make home-made beef patty sandwich tonight that would taste ‘as good’ as McDonald’s. I am also submitting it to the 2nd week of Steemit Sandwich Contest. Hoping you could judge whether McDonald’s burger is better or mine?!

Not that I have anything against McDonald’s, I am just not happy with the ingredients they use. You see, my husband had consumed fast food everyday for over 20 years since he started working and he had stopped recently (Oops, did I just gave away his age. Sorry hubby! ). The thing is, once we reached a certain age, fast food is no longer a good food choice.

I am all so motivated to battle fast food and vowed to make my own home a good burger joint so that my husband could enjoy ‘fast food’ but in a healthier way and hopefully tastier too!

Come think about it, I am starting to have a different take on this sandwich contest moving into week 2. I would like to think that we are also spreading something very positive - it is to encourage others to make your own food more often and eat at fast food joints less (Any thoughts on this @jaybird ?).

IMG_20170818_192524.jpg

Okay back to my sandwich - Since my husband loves sauce, I spooned a lot of my home made basil sauce on the sandwich. As you can see, after we cut the sandwich into half, the sauce sort of 'messed up' the whole 'look' of the sandwich. Honestly, I don't like messiness, but that's the way my husband like it so I am more than happy to let him have it this way, lol.

IMG_20170818_193636.jpg

IMG_20170818_204551.jpg

For the Beef Patties - I mixed minced beef with egg, dried basil, dried oregano, dried breadcrumbs, ketchup, garlic, onion and feta cheese.

For the sauce - I mixed sour cream, cream cheese, garlic, lemon juice, water and fresh basil.

IMG_20170818_182826.jpg

The rest is pretty easy... lettuce, tomato and your choice of bun. Really, there is no excuse not to make your sandwich at home.

My Steemit peeps - let’s create a movement and encourage one another to participate in this contest. Not only it’s fun, it’s healthier to make your own food!!

Sort:  

This is a great idea and tag, I hope a lot of people start posting with it, that would make a great resource, imagine just checking steemitsandwichcontest for a great snack or meal idea.

It takes a bit more effort to cook at home but it is so worth it! Especially when you end up with a sandwich like yours!

I still have a lot to learn about cooking but I am all so motivated and definitely it is worth it @jaymorebeet

Great looking sandwich, @steemit-foodie. Your sauce sounds really interesting. What type of basil did you use? Sweet, Thai, Medditeranean, lemon basil or another? I ask because I love sauces myself, and would like to try making/tasting this.

Thanks so much @shalala - Although the package doesn't say, I believe it's sweet basil as the stem is green.

I had also used this sauce on pasta and rice noodles too.

Ah, yes! Those leaves look like the sweet basil. Can't wait to whip this up! Thanks @steemit-foodie!

Great - looking forward to hear how it goes @shalala

Ya, no McDonalds for me. Good job diverting that urge lol. Love home made burgers and Basil sauce!

Did you know you can skip the bread crumbs for beef patties usually. The egg will more or less hold the meat together well enough. If you do chicken or turkey burgers you'll probably need it tho.

You got to try making lamb burgers! those are the best!
The nx time i make those, i'll post the recipe too.

And yes I'm definitely hoping that the contest will help the community in a positive way. So far it's been successful in attracting a eclectic group of people and promoting them to get back into making their original sandiwches. Everyone seems to have one that they "used to make" or from childhood etc.

Great - thanks for the tips. I look forward to your lamb burger recipe! @jaybird

Great post and photos - it is always so much better to cook your own food that buy take outs as you feel better and you know what is in our food.
Followed you and appreciate if your follow me to.
See you on Steemit and will keep an eye for your next post

I agree 200%. Thanks for dropping by @vividgrange

Homemade food are always the best @steemit-foodie! Very original touch with the basil-sour cream, it really lifts the sandwich to a very high level!
Thanks for such a great dish!
@progressivechef

Thanks so much @progressivechef - As a home cook, all I wanted is to ensure my family is healthy and I am always trying hard to do something new to keep them interested in eating at home, lol.

I can't get enough of this.

Geez that looks delicious, I can't see your husband heading to Mickey D's after that. Would be like hitting up the Tuesday afternoon strippers at Filmores while your nymphomaniac supermodel wife waits at home.😂

Hahahahaha - Love it. You always have the cleverest and funniest comments - You've got a gift, man!!! And, while I am no supermodel, my husband better comes home to eat if he cares about his health, LOL.

nothing wrong with messy sandwich they are the best kind of sandwich actually as the flavours blend in together

Thank you - you are absolutely right on this one @smartbean - sandwich full of flavours is indeed the best kind of sandwich. Thanks for dropping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67321.51
ETH 3513.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83