Highlights from the Veto Judge: Steemit Sandwich Contest Week # 4steemCreated with Sketch.

in #steemitsandwichcontest7 years ago (edited)

I would like to continue the tradition started by @jaymorebeet and write a post to sum up Week # 4 of the Steemit Sandwich Contest, hosted by the sandwich master @jaybird - BTW, you must check out the many great sandwiches jaybird put together. Here is one:

I appreciate the opportunity to be the veto judge this week. But please let me begin by sharing my thoughts about this contest. I have been participating since the beginning and I’m proud to be part of this community. If you browse around, you would notice that everyone is very supportive of each other. It’s also a treat to witness so many creative sandwiches made by many talented folks. Some of us are also the funniest and the most witty human beings, their comments made me laugh out loud all the time. I hope as the contest grows, we would be able to build a bigger and stronger community! Now, I would like to acknowledge everyone who entered Week # 4 ’s contest. Here is my recap of the week:  

FINGER Sandwiches with tuna-mayo by @progressivechef - I always look forward to posts from progressivechef - Not only his sandwiches are very creative, at the same time, I always learn a great deal about food and cooking technique from him. Again, his entry this week is definitely something I would love to make at home. I like that he always includes a lot of vegetables in his sandwiches, which is extremely important to any healthy and balanced diet.

Ryes And Shine (Open-Faced Pastrami Breakfast Sandwich) by @shalala - shalala’s sandwich was a big surprise to me when I saw she included one of my favourite ingredients - sauerkraut. My husband's family is from eastern Europe and they introduced me to sauerkraut. I had no idea such great food exists prior to that. Also, I know what goes well with it. I could almost taste this sandwich by just reading the ingredients listed and I loved it. Last but not least, I could tell that shalala chooses her ingredients very carefully. This sandwich was very beautifully crafted, it really puts a smile on my face and it was my top choice!

Mosh Pit Sandwich by @tehshikari - I saw a lot of good stuff in tehshikari’s sandwich. In particular, I like the homemade pesto with basil fresh from the garden. Apparently, the tomatoes and cucumber were also home grown. I sense a great deal of enthusiasm in tehshikari’s post and it warms my heart. You see, when we are doing something we are passionate about, it shows. Also, I like that tehshikari knows how to enjoy life - a beer with a sandwich - priceless!

Tender Meatloaf & Fried Egg in a Stuffed Paprikawich by @foodie.warrior - I totally get the challenge faced by foodie.warrior when it comes to preparing sandwiches that would be suitable for your loved one with special dietary needs. I like that she is inclusive and shared with us an entry that would be helpful to readers who might have special dietary needs. You could tell she made this entry with tender loving care and I always admire and appreciate her creativity!

Surprising Sfeni Sandwich with Roasted Vegetables and Tandoori Mayo by @creativewoman - It sure was a nice surprise to see a sandwich entry made with Sfeni. I first heard of Sfenj, a Moroccan doughnuts, from a show hosted by Michael Smith on Food Network years ago. It’s a real treat for me to read about this sandwich entry by creativewoman! Love that our readers get to learn food from around the globe. Also, roasted vegetables sound very appealing to me, especially the grilled eggplants. This sandwich is so unique and I would love to try it one day. I also hope to visit Morocco one day so that I could try all the delicious food there. Perhaps I could make a stopover to visit creativewoman first to taste this sandwich.

Tuna Grilled Cheese(s) on Homemade Garlic Potato Bread by @jaymorebeet - I love a good loaf of bread. I repeat, I LOVE a good loaf of bread. And to make sandwiches from a good loaf of bread. I mean, how amazing is that?! I love everything about this entry and it is such a good looking sandwich with good quality ingredients. This is definitely something I would order if it’s on a restaurant menu. jaymorebeet is such a great cook and all her posts (besides food) are always so interesting too! If you have not yet followed her, you should because she has the most fantastic blog! She is also very witty and fun and I love chatting with her!

A Turkey Dream To Make You Cream by @electricsheeple - Love how electricsheeple made this Prince-inspired keto-licious sandwich. Learned a lot about Prince from his post. In addition, I love the inclusiveness as it makes this contest even more interesting by having contestants from all walks of life and all walks of dietary needs. Very inspiring and he is a good sport. I am following him closely so that I know what to make for my husband! (P.S. - This is his 2nd entry after his 1st null entry. I wanted to acknowledge him and to say that we love that he is now part of the community!)

We have some null entries that I would like to take the opportunity to acknowledge!

Bacon Loves Everything by @tonygreene113 - Holy cow! Photo speaks a thousand words. Look at the sandwich made by Tonygreene113 - He needs to know that people over here are memorized with his sandwich. He deserved to be mentioned here and I hope to see an entry from him for this contest soon!

Chicken Crash Bacon Burger by @sjennon - I really like this sandwich. It's too bad it disqualified due to a missing tag. We love egg + garlic sauce + bacon + schnitzel over here. To include all that in one sandwich. Really, what’s not to love?! I am sure she will be back soon with some awesome creations.

Chicken Sandwich by @itsginta - I enjoyed reading Ginta’s post and love the sandwich picture she shared. Also, her sense of humour. I sure hope she would submit an official post to the contest soon and share more of her creations!

Sort:  

WOW!!!! Steemit-foodie, I am so sorry this response is so late. I just saw this. Thank you for this amazing write up. I have very big shoes to fill.
And YOU ROCK!!!!

Awww, thank you @shalala - I love being here, around creative folks ... to have the chance writing a post to acknowledge all of them was truly special ... My day job doesn't allow me to be creative and I'm happy I found this place to get involved and be creative!

Great write up Steemit-foodie.

We were definitely on the same page with most of these entries and I believe we made the correct decisions lol!

It's always great for me to read what other's are thinking when reviewing the entries.

BTW congrats, I saw @Curie picked up your entry for week 1. Epic!

Awesome... Really, I am going to look into it... Thanks for letting me know.

you were a judge for this contest?

Only for Week #4 as I won the 2nd prize previous week.

What a stellar recap of a fantastic contest and week's worth of entries!! My heart just grew three sizes :) And my belly just growled three times. Is it time for second lunch yet?? :) Thanks @steemit-foodie!!

Haha - Ever since we started the sandwich contest. I have been eating up a storm and would have multiple lunches and dinners in one day.

Can't wait to see your next entry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 71067.77
ETH 3831.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.44