Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #38 - Hummus Pizza (healthy/vegan)

Hummus Pizza

hummus pizza sandwich.JPG

I didn't feel like the usual pita and hummus tonight, so I experimented a bit. First I whipped up some hummus (tahini, garlic, cumin, lemon juice, water, chickpeas, and salt)
hummus.JPG

Here in New Jersey, we have great pizza so there is no knead (pun intended) to make my own dough. I just popped by my local pizzeria and ask for a ball of dough. I just flattened it with a rolling pin and some flipping with the help of gravity, and cut it with a pizza cutter into 4 pieces. I threw it on to a very hot grill for about 2 minutes per side and the crust was done.

grilled pizza.JPG

I then sauteed some red, orange and yellow peppers, sliced red onions, and a sliced Italian long hot pepper in some olive oil.

onions and peppers.JPG

To assemble, I spread a healthy layer of hummus on the pizza crust, the sauteed onions & peppers, some chopped parsley, cucumber slices, sliced cherry tomatoes, sliced Kalamata olives, a drizzle of extra virgin olive oil and a pinch of chili pepper to give it a kick.

This experiment was a definite success!!!

Hummus pizza closeup.JPG

Legal Disclaimer

Some may say that this is technically not a true sandwich, but an open-faced sandwich at best. I Googled it and pizza does seem to be categorized as a sandwich, but I leave it up to our esteemed contest owner to decide. In any event, it was delicious.

Sort:  

Oh ya, this looks really freakin good! Nice job on the home made hummus and lovin' those olives!

Looks like an open faced sandwich to me ;)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 05:29:12
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 138.85/200.00
Total Photos: 26
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Just by looking at it, I am already excited ...haha I m weird

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62893.52
ETH 3354.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47