Steemit Sandwich Contest Week #61- Ramen Beef Sandwich

IMG_0977.JPG

This week when @jaybird announced the theme for week #61 of his Steemit sandwich contest "Anything but boring white bread" I was thinking lettuce, tortillas, portobello mushrooms...but I drew a blank. As the week went on, I was still stumped. Then I thought of one of my favorite childhood meal at my grandparent's house in Tokyo called Gyudon. It is a dish of sweet and salty thinly sliced stewed beef over rice. Thinking of Japan, I also thought of the fun times I had with my dad at ramen shops so I combined the two to create a ramen sandwich. My bread dilemma is solved!

IMG_0973.JPG

Ingredients

  • stewed beef (onions, sake, Mirin, soy sauce, canola oil, and sesame oil)
  • ramen patties (ramen noodles, egg, canola oil and salt)
  • coleslaw (cabbage, carrots, mayonnaise, shichimi, and ponzu sauce)
  • pickled ginger

What makes this beef dish so savory are the onions, lots and lots of them. For this dish, I prefer to purchase sliced beef from a Japanese grocery store because they sell thinly sliced beef that is perfectly marbled with fat. This makes the beef really succulent and tender. The beef is first sautéed with the onions then simmered in a mixture of Sake, Mirin, soy sauce and sesame oil. Mirin is a sweet rice wine that is naturally sweet from a fermentation process. It adds sweetness to the overall dish and balances the saltiness from the soy sauce.

IMG_0972.JPG

For the ramen patties, the cooked noodles are tossed with a tiny bit of salt and to help glue the noodles together I mixed in an egg. I pressed them into a greased ring mold. If you don't have ring molds at home, you can always use tuna fish cans.

IMG_0970.JPG

Fry each side of the patties until golden brown. To finish cooking the patties, I transferred them onto a baking tray and baked them in the oven for a few minutes.

IMG_0971.JPG

Now it is time to assemble the sandwich. The star of this sandwich is the beef so I piled the beef high on top of one noodle "bun."

IMG_0974.JPG

I added some coleslaw that is dressed with mayonnaise, Ponzu sauce and shichimi. Shichimi is a Japanese condiment that consists of seven ingredients. One of the main ingredient is ground chili pepper. Shichimi is usually served with ramen. To finish the sandwich, I added some pickled ginger for some acidity. I wonder what my grandparents would think of this twist on the classic Gyudon. Thanks @jaybird for another fun sandwich theme!

IMG_0981.jpg

Sort:  

👍👍👍😀 a colleague at the work is eating them pure. It never came in my mind to mix them up in a sandwich! Great one :-) good luck within the contest darling 😀

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you for your kind words @avizor. I can't wait to see what you will be cooking up next.

Shudang! Just when I thought perhaps u’d been stumped...

Coming up with this gem if a ramen sandwich. I love this idea.

The noodles forming the “bread” vs the delectable strips of beef. Combined with some choice “stirfry-esque” veggies and spice. Oh man.

Pres looks great too & way to add that personal touch to the entry :)

I was almost at a lost, lol. As usual, thank you for your feedback and I almost forgot...Happy Thanksgiving! Since living in the States, sometimes Canadian Thanksgiving slips my mind (I grew up in Vancouver).

Yep ramen noodles formed as a bread, made also my day 😅! Im glad I had not taken part in this week. This will top totally all ideas 👌 - the meat looks also very magnificent 😊

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well, I'm sad you haven't joined ;)

excellent..and thanks for your support.

Thanks so much @yankee-statman. Your knowledge of Bitcoin and trends of the market is incredible. I just wish I had a brain for all of that.

Thanks!!! believe me you are GREAT at what you do!

Well well well, this truly is anything but boring white bread @loveself, and that gorgeous oniony beefy richness all to die for! Food magician you are! Good luck with the contest :)

Thank you for the compliment @lizelle. I think you are the true magician. Cheesy inside out bacon wrapped linseed bread rolls, my mouth is salivating just thinking of it. Good luck to you too!

What a great idea! I never would have thought about this, wonderful. @jaybird is really testing us this week right? You definitely created a beauty @loveself! The beef looks so juicy, perfect with the ramen bun :)

When I saw this week's theme I felt as if I were at school and there was a pop quiz and my mind drew a blank for the longest time. Thank you @birdsinparadise and I definitely will have to try making those cauliflower buns.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63310.58
ETH 2680.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58